Our Tour Places

Bangalore

Cubbon Park

Cubbon Park is a landmark 'lung' area of the Bangalore city, located (12.97°N 77.6°E) within the heart of city in the Central Administrative Area. Originally created in 1870, when Major General Richard Sankey was the then British Chief Engineer of Mysore state, it covered an area of 100 acres (0.40 km2) and subsequent expansion has taken place and the area reported now is about 300 acres (1.2 km2). It has a rich recorded history of abundant flora and fauna plantations coupled with numerous impressive and aesthetically located buildings and statues of famous personages, in its precincts. This public park was first named as “Meade’s Park” after Sir John Meade, the acting Commissioner of Mysore in 1870 and subsequently renamed as Cubbon Park after the longest serving commissioner of the time, Sir Mark Cubbon. To commemorate the Silver Jubilee of Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar’s rule in Mysore State, in the year 1927, the park was again renamed as "Sri. Chamarajendra Park", in memory of the 19th Century ruler of the state Sri Chamarajendra Wodeyar (1868 – 94) during whose rule the park came into existence. The landscaping in the park creatively integrates natural rock outcrops with thickets of trees, massive bamboos, with grassy expanse and flowerbeds and the monuments within its limits, regulated by the Horticulture Department of the Government of Karnataka.

LALBAGH BOTANICAL GARDEN

The Lalbagh Botanical Garden, Bangalore is of royal origin and was started initially as a private garden in an area of 40 acres by Hyder Ali, one of the most famous rulers of old Mysore in 1760. Initially designed in Mughal style, on the model of an extensive garden at Sira in Tumkur near Bangalore, this garden was further developed by Hyder Ali’s son Tipu Sultan and subsequently by the British and Indian doyens of horticulture by extension of area and addition of a number of plant species. Of them, Major Waugh, Dr. Wallich, William Munroe, Sir Mark Cubbon, Dr. Cleghorn, William New, A. Blck, John Cameron, Krumbeigal, Rao Bahadur H.C. Javaraya, K. Nanjappa and Dr. M.H. Marigowda, as the Superintendents of the garden, have made noteworthy contributions to the development of Lalbagh. Lalbagh is currently under the aegis of the Directorate of Horticulture, Government of Karnataka. The Directorate is housed amidst the splendid environs of the botanical garden. Lalbagh was given the status of a Government Botanical Garden in 1856, and since then, it has been an internationally renowned centre for scientific study of plants and botanical artwork and also conservation of plants. Formal and informal styles dominate the garden in perfect harmony, which is a testimony to the beauty of nature. Today, the garden is a lush green paradise with an area of 240 acres in the heart of the city.

Mysore

Palace of Mysore

The Palace of Mysore (also known as the Amba Vilas Palace) is a historical palace in the city of Mysore in Karnataka, southern India. It is the official residence and seat of the Wodeyars — the Maharajas of Mysore, the former royal family of Mysore, who ruled the princely state of Mysore from 1399 to 1950. The palace houses two durbar halls (ceremonial meeting halls of the royal court) and incorporates a mesmerizing and gigantic array of courtyards, gardens, and buildings. The palace is in the central region of inner Mysore, facing the Chamundi Hills eastward. Mysore is commonly described as the City of Palaces. There are about seven palaces inclusive of this; however, Mysore Palace refers specifically to the one within the Old Fort. Built by the Maharaja Rajarshi H.H. Krishnarajendra Wadiyar IV, Mysore Palace is now one of the most famous tourist attractions in India, after the Taj Mahal, and has more than 3 million visitors annually.

Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens

Mysore Zoo was originally created in 1892 on 10 acres (4.0 ha) of the summer palace of Maharaja Sri Chamaraja Wodeyar, and was originally called the Palace Zoo. The zoo was originally set up by G.H. Krumbeigal, a German landscaper and horticulturist. Over the next 10 years the zoo was expanded to 45 acres (18 ha) with spacious enclosures that are still in use. Sri Chamaraja Wodeyar The zoo was opened to the public in 1902, and now includes a bandstand and an artificial lake. It was given to the Department of Parks and Gardens of the Mysore State Government in 1948. The zoo was expanded first with another 50 acres (20 ha), and then another 150 acres (61 ha) with the acquisition of the Karanji Tank (Karanji reservoir), in which an artificial island has been created as a sanctuary for birds.

Krishna Raja Sagar Dam

The Krishna Raja Sagara Dam (KRS Dam) was built across river Kaveri, the life giving river for the Mysore and Mandya districts, in 1924. Apart from being the main source of water for irrigation in the most fertile Mysore and Mandya, the reservoir is the main source of drinking water for all of Mysore city and almost the whole of Bangalore city, the capital of the state of Karnataka. The water released from this dam is further used as an important source of water in the state of Tamil Nadu, which has its own Mettur dam in the Salem district. The dam is named for the then ruler of the Mysore Kingdom, Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. The Chief Engineer, Sir M. Vishveswaraya engineered the construction of the dam during the Wadeyar kings regime in 1932.

Vrindavan Garden

The Brindavan Gardens are located just a level below the dam.Often described as the best example of illuminated terrace gardens in the country, the idea was brainchild of Sir M.Visveshwaraiah and Sir Mirza M ismail, former Devans of Mysuru. The overall design here displays an orientation of Mughal patterns-with garden paths and a shimmering necklace of fountains.On the South bank there is a pavilion, where visitors can get a breathtaking view of the gardens. Other highlights at the gardens include a children’s park, a fisheries station and a hydraulic research station. Adding a touch of sanctity to the place is a beautiful sculpture of Goddess Cauvery at the foot of the dam. Garden Timings: All Week Days: 6.00am to 8.00pm Music Fountain Show: All Week Days: 6.30pm to 7.30pm Saturdays and Sundays: 6.30pm to 8.30pm

Srirangpattnam

Fourteen km northeast of Mysore is Srirangpattnam, an island fortress and the capital of Hyder Ali and Tipu Sultan. Tipu's summer palace, Daria Daulat, has now been turned into a museum. Sangam, the confluence of two branches of the Cauvery River, is situated around 3 km off Srirangpattnam. Ranganathittu is a bird sanctuary situated around 18 km off Mysore and allows a close view of exotic and common birds. Although situated a mere 15 km from Mysore city, Srirangapattana lies in the neighbouring district of Mandya. The entire town is enclosed by the river Kaveri to form a river island, northern half of which is shown in the image to the right. While the main river flows on the eastern side of the island, the Paschima Vaahini segment of the same river flows to its west. The town is easily accessible by train from Bangalore and Mysore and is also well-connected by road, lying as it does just off the Bangalore-Mysore highway.

Cauvery River

Cauvery is a sacred river of southern India, rising on Brahmagiri Hill in the Western Ghats in Coorg district of Karnataka state, flowing in a south-easterly direction for 475 mi (765 km) through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu states across the Deccan Plateau, and descending the Eastern Ghats in a series of great falls. Before emptying into the Bay of Bengal south of Cuddalore, Tamil Nadu, it breaks into a large number of distributaries forming a wide delta. Known as "Daksina Ganga" (Ganges of the South), it is celebrated for its scenery and sanctity, and its entire course is considered holy ground. Read Cauvery river in southern India to know more. The Call of the Cauvery Track the journey of the Cauvery from the misty hills of western Karnataka to the white beaches of eastern Tamil Nadu. This sacred river travels across the heartland of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu, traverses through several cultures and past towering temples, majestic palaces, quaint Dutch colonies, humming mills, before it flows into the Bay of Bengal. To find out more to start your journey, read The Call of the Cauvery.

Ranganathittu

Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary is a bird sanctuary in the Mandya district of Karnataka, India. It covers an area of 67 sq km (square kilometer) and consists of six islets on the banks of the river Kaveri. The historic town of Srirangapatna is nearby. In 1940, the famous ornithologist Dr.Salim Ali observed that the islets formed an important nesting ground for birds. He persuaded the Wodeyar Kings of Mysore to declare the area a wildlife sanctuary. The best time to visit is during the water birds' nesting season, which is from June to November. The best time to observe migratory birds is in December. The nearest railhead is Srirangapatna, just 3 km away. Mysore, the nearest major city, is 19 km away. Bangalore is the nearest major airport (125 km)

Bandipur National Park

Bandipur National Park is regarded as one of the most beautiful and the better-managed national parks of India. Located amidst the picturesque surroundings of the towering Western Ghat Mountains on the Mysore-Ooty highway in Karnataka, Bandipur National Park covers an area of about 874.2 sq km. Together with Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary in Tamil Nadu, Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary in Kerala and Nagarhole National Park in the North, it creates the India's biggest biosphere reserve popularly known as the 'Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve'. The Bandipur National Park occupies a special place in India's efforts towards Eco-conservation.Bandipur also has a sizable number of Tigers. Other natural inhabitants of this lovely forest are gaur (a type of bull), sambhar, chital, mouse deer, four-horned antelope, wild dogs, wild boar, jackal, sloth bear, panther, malabar squirrel, porcupines and the black-knapped hare. Birds like jungle fowl and green pigeon are also found here.

Cauvery Fishing Camp

Tucked away amidst mountains, valleys, a mighty river, jungle sounds and lush greenery, the sanctuary is an idyllic getaway where anglers and nature enthusiasts can get a whiff of raw adventure and a view of the majestic Cauvery as it bounces over jagged rocks. Here, you can trek to the top of the hill to get a panoramic view of the Cauvery flowing through the picturesque valley below. You could also visit the ruins of the magnificent sculpted Shiva temple, a place of worship for the local Soliga tribes, raft down the rapids of the Cauvery, or even indulge in game fishing.

Le Palais du maharaja

Located at the epicenter of Paris, we have been serving the finest tasting Indian Food for over a decade. We specialize in a wide variety of Indian delicacies for lunch as well as dinner. “Le Palais de Raja-Maharaja is pleased to receive a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence,” said the Owner at Le Palais de Raja-Maharaja. “We strive to offer our customers a memorable experience, and this accolade is evidence that our hard work is translating into positive traveler reviews on TripAdvisor.” We serve our gourmet menu between 12pm and 2pm and 6:30pm until 11pm. We also have banquet space and private dining options available for your next event or meeting.

Jaganmohan Palace

This Art Gallery located to the west with a walking distance to that of main palace, which is famous Art Gallery. It was built during rule of Krishnaraja Wodeyar III in 1861 to celebrate the marriage of his daughter, the princess of Mysuru, because the main palace was destroyed in a fire in 1897. The main door of this Museum is it self a master piece of Art with intricate carvings which is said to have been made in just 70 days. The museum was officially started in 1915, and has since been expended adding many artifacts. This Art Gallery was linded to the famous Mysuru style of painting of rare original paintings and artiacts and entrusted the Administration of this Museum to a committee. The museum was named after sri Jayachamrajendra Wodeyar in 1955 as Jaganmohn Palace Art Gallery. The original oil paintings of Raja Ravi Varma of Travancore on display here are on many mythological themes. The painting of lady holding the lamp of the Indian Artist S.G.Heldnker is another piece. The other Exhibits include Artifacts made from Glass, Ceramic and Metal.

Devaraja Market

Mysore's landmark, the over a century-old Devaraja Market building is to be renovated. The renovation proposal has been taken up by the Mysore City Corporation, under its new Mayor, Mr. Dakshina Murthy. Incidentally, Mr. Murthy, a Congress Corporator, was elected Mayor, succeeding Mrs. Modamani, after her one-year term in office. At a meeting of important personalities of Mysore and the members of the Mysore Agenda Task Force, the new Mayor discussed the proposal and said the renovation would be undertaken without damaging the external architecture of the building. Its unique architectural design would be retained. Inside the sprawling market, amenities would be created to cater to the large number of vegetable, fruit and other merchants. Initially, the City Corporation will make available Rs. 78 lakhs for taking up the project, which is proposed to be completed within a year, possibly before the Dasara festivities in October this year. Besides the Corporation making available a portion of the required money, 50 per cent of the total expenditure is to be collected from the merchants of the market, as the Corporation is facing financial hardship. Around 763 fruit, vegetable and other traders are presently doing business in the sprawling market. The overall proposal may cost around Rs. 1 crore.

Railway Museum

Calling out to all the rail-fans and train buffs, here is finally something to get your pulse racing- the Regional Railway Museum in Chennai, covering in its tracks the railway history of Southern India. Housing an extensive number of steam engines, that saw their glory days back during the British reign, as well as vintage coaches of the Nilgiri Mountain Railway, romanticized in Hindi movies, the Railway Museum was set up in 2002 and has ever since become a popular go-to place of the locals. The indoor exhibit has a number of rare photographs of the early years of Indian railways, a working scale model of the trains in addition to a number of other artefacts relating to the colonial era. The outdoor exhibit holds the museum's star attractions. 40 different train models, some of them a century old and built by the North British Locomotive Company, are set for display in the outdoor exhibit. Making the story of trains in India more engaging to children is the toy train ride chugging through the history of trains.

Chamundi Hill

Chamundi Hill is about 13 kms from Mysore, which is a prominent city in Karnataka State, India. Chamundi Hills is famous not only in India but also abroad. Atop the hills is the famous Sri Chamundeswari Temple. ‘Chamundi’ or ‘Durga’ is the fierce form of ‘Shakti’. She is the slayer of demons, ‘Chanda’ and ‘Munda’ and also ‘Mahishasura’, the buffalo-headed monster. She is the tutelary deity of the Mysore Maharajas and the presiding deity of Mysore whose poepole hold her in great esteem. For several centuries they have held the Goddess, Chamundeswari, in great reverence. ‘Skanda Purana’ and other ancient texts mention a sacred place called ‘Trimuta Kshetra’ surrounded by eight hills. Lying on the western side is the Chamundi Hills, one among the eight hills. In the earlier days, the Hills was identified as ‘Mahabaladri’ in honour of God Shiva who resides in the ‘Mahabaleswara Temple’. This is the oldest temple on the hills.

Madikeri

Coorg

Kodagu also known as Coorg, is an administrative district in Karnataka, India. It occupies an area of 4,102 square kilometres (1,584 sq mi) in the Western Ghats of southwestern Karnataka. In 2001 its population was 548,561, 13.74% of which resided in the district's urban centres, making it the least populous of the 30 districts in Karnataka. The district is bordered by Dakshina Kannada district to the northwest, Hassan district to the north, Mysore district to the east, Kannur district of Kerala to the southwest, and the Wayanad district of Kerala to the south. Agriculture is the most important factor that upholds the economy of Kodagu and the main crops cultivated in this region are rice and coffee. Coorg is rich in natural resources which included timber and spices. Madikeri (English: Mercara) is the headquarters of Kodagu.

Madikeri fort

The Madikeri fort, with its imposing structure crowns the entire town, was rebuilt by Tipu Sulthan. The Veerabhadra Temple inside it was removed by the British and replaced an Anglian Church, which is now converted to Museum. The Madikeri palace is located inside the fort and was built by the Lingarajendra Wodeyar II. The British renovated the structure twice and in 1933 added a clock tower and a portico.The Palace of the erstwhile kings located inside the Fort, now houses the offices of the Deputy Commissioner. The brick and mortar Palace was built in 1814 by Lingarajendra Wodeyar II.The strong fort of Mercara explains the tale of bravery and battle. In the inner Fort, a temple of Virabhadra was removed by the British in 1855 and in its place built an Anglican Church. The Church, in Gothic style, with color stained glasses has now been converted into a museum. The museum, run by the state archaeology department, is a repository of many antiques of Coorg. The original mud fort was rebuilt in stone by Tipu Sultan.

Abbi Falls

Abby Falls or the Abbi Water Falls is situated just 7-8 kilometers from Madikeri town [Galibeedu road]. 'Abbi' in coorgie means a waterfall .A waterfall you don�t want to miss. The British called it the Jessie waterfalls in memory of Jessie the daughter of Madikeri's first captain. It is located in a private property and decently maintained. Abby cascades 70 ft down to flow as a small river .The falls appear suddenly, the water cascading over rocks into calm pools. A path through coffee and cardamom plantation off the main road adds to the attraction of the falls. Enjoy the gushing, roaring beauty but a desire to take a dip in the cool waters may prove to be risky. Reaching the place is a nice ride in itself as the road that drives you is very narrow with lots of turns and twists, ups and downs a two wheeler ride would be JOLLY one. A nature welcomes you at every turn .The route to this Falls one Has to go through private Coffee estates. The Foggy Spray issuing forth from the stream flowing over a precipe makes a spectacular sight when viewed from a convenient spot.

Irpu Falls

Iruppu waterfall is one of Coorgs major tourist attractions. Iruppu is a sacred place and is located in south Coorg on the Brahmagiri range of hills. River Lakshmana-tirtha flows nearby. According to legends Rama and Lakshmana, passed this way in search of Sita. Lakshmana shot an arrow into the Brahmagiri hills and brought into being the river Lakshmana tirtha when Rama asked him to fetch some water. iruppu falls coorgThe river descends into a water fall known as the Irupu Falls and takes a 60 meter plunge down the river amidst the lushy green mountain. This place is said to possess the power to cleanse one’s sins and is visited by thousands of devotees on Shivaratri day.Irpu Falls is around 30kms from Gonikoppa and 80 kms from Madikeri. Nagarahole is just 25 kms away from Irpu Falls.

Bhagamandala Temple

Bhagamandala is situated at the confluence of two rivers, the Kaveri and the Kanika. A third river, the Sujyothi is said to join from underground. It is considered sacred as a river confluence (kudala or sangama, in Kannada and Sanskrit). The temple here, built in Kerala style, has smaller shrines dedicated to various gods. It is a common practice for pilgrims to take a dip in the sangama and perform rituals to their ancestors before proceeding to Talakaveri, the birthplace of Kaveri. During Tula Sankramana which falls on October 17 or 18. A short distance from the sangama, there is a famous temple known as Sri Bhagandeshwara temple, where Bhagandeshwara (Ishwara), Subramanya, Mahavishnu and Ganapati are installed. Thus this is also known as Bhagundeshwara Kshetra, from which the name Bhagamandala is derived.

Nisargadhama

Nisargadhama is a breath taking and beautiful island off the state highway, Just 2 km from Kushalnagar town and around 30 kms from Madikeri. An Ecological Park for young and old and a paradise for the nature lovers also it has a small snack house, a deer park, boating and elephant ride. It�s a 64 acre island with Cauvery river flowing by, can be accessed by walking across a hanging bridge. If you feel like having a relaxed time in a quite and peaceful environment, Nisargadhama is the place. It gives immense pleasure to all the Nature loving tourists. Nisargadhama has a forest Department run rest house. It�s filled with lush foliage of thick bamboo groves. Elephant rides and boating are some of the other attractions. This place is for one who wants to spend a nice time in the green with family, there are also tree houses boating and other activities conducted around this place.

Talacauvery

Talacauvery is a holy pilgrimage for the Hindus. Located at the Brahmagiri hills and considered to be the origin of the river Kaveri, it is situated 1276m above the sea level. At present there is a tank at the place where Kaveri is believed to have originated. The river originates as a spring supplying water to this tank. The water then flows underground to emerge as the Kaveri river at some distance. This tank is considered to be a holy place to bathe on special days. Nearby there is also a small temple dedicated to Lord Agastheeswara and frequently visited by the pilgrims.There is a legend saying that Kaveri was held captive by the sage Agasthya in his Kamandalu and Lord Ganesha in the form of a crow made the Kamandalu topple at the top of this hill when Sage Agasthya was meditating. People believe that taking bath in Talacauvery is very sacred and it can relieve man form all his sufferings.

Coffee Plantation

Plantation Trails is Tata Coffee's hospitality brand, offering unique Heritage Bungalows in Coorg and Chikmagalur. Situated amidst striking tea and coffee plantations, these bungalows offer a true "Plantation Experience" for guests. Owned and managed by Tata Coffee Ltd. which has a history of over 85 years in the region, one is assured of the best travel, hosts and guides when on a vacation at their premises. These spacious and quaint bungalows, offer a personalized cook and butler service, ensuring that guests are always comfortable, making it a perfect getaway from the hustle of city life.At Plantation Trails, you may go for a guided bird watching tour early in the mornings while you stroll through the fertilized plantations armed with a pair of binoculars and a camera, or take the guided Bean to Cup plantation tour, a favorite among guests. Hop into a jeep and drive through the tranquil greens of the estates and complete it with a visit to the factory to learn how coffee is processed from bean to a piping cup.

Rajas' Tomb

A historical structure, Raja’s tomb aka Gaddige in Coorg is a beautiful structure extremely popular among the history buffs. The tomb boasts of the indo-sarcenic style of architecture and the most popular attraction here is the mortal remains of the Kodava royalty and the court dignitaries. There are many other toms of famous historical personalities as well. To the right is the tomb of Lingarajendra, built in A.D.1820 by his son Chikkaveerarajendra. To the left is the tomb of Royal priest Rudrappa, built in A.D 1834. Nearby are buried two royal officials, Biddanda Bopu who died fighting with Tipu Sultan, and his son Biddanda somaiah. This attraction is located just 1 km from Madikeri. Gaddige is about 1 km from Madikeri Bus Stand.

Raja's Seat

Raja's Seat, close to Coorg's main town of Madikeri, is a popular Coorg tourist attraction. This garden spot was apparently a favorite of the Kings of Kodagu. If you want peace and quiet there, it's best to go in the morning.One of the most enchanting places in Madikeri is the Raja Seat, where one can have exquisite views of the sunrise and sunset. This is called rajaseat because the Coorg Raja were known to visit spot together with their consorts to watch the beauty of nature. it an Amazing park now.To left of raja seat is the Gandhi Mantap , where the mortal remains of Mahatma Gandhi is kept.Raja seat also has a train [goes around raja seat] and a dancing Fountain.

Kabani

Kabini River

The Kabini, also called Kabani and Kapila, is a river of southern India. It originates in the Wayanad District of Kerala state from the confluence of the Panamaram River and the Mananthavady River, and flows eastward to join the Kaveri River at Tirumakudalu Narasipura in Karnataka, which empties into the Bay of Bengal. Close to the town of Sargur it forms the huge Kabini Reservoir.The backwaters of the Kabini reservoir are very rich in wildlife especially in summer when the water level recedes to form rich grassy meadows. Elephant family on the Kabini River bank The Kabini dam is 2,284 ft (696 m) in length with an original gross storage of 19.52 tmcft, but that has been reduced considerably due to silt accumulation. The Kabini Dam is situated between villages Bichanahalli and Bidarahalli having distance of 17 km (11 mi) 6 km away from Sargur town in Heggadadevana kote taluk, Mysore district. The beauty of Kapila river is best enjoyed in Nanjangud with the famous 16-pillar mantap and 14 steps river bank where the famous Srikanteshwara_Temple,Nanjangud is located.

Hassan

Arambol Beach

Arambol (also known as Harmal) first emerged in the 1960s as a mellow paradise for long-haired long-stayers. Today, things are still decidedly cheap and cheerful, with much of the village’s budget accommodation arranged in simple little huts along the cliff sides. It’s a bit more mainstream festival in style than in days gone by, and it may be that many of today’s ‘hippies’ shave off their fortnight’s beards and take off their tie-dye once they’re back to their nine-to-five lives. The village’s main covelike beach is gently curved and safe for swimming. Perhaps the reason why is that in recent years, Arambol has become popular among families with young children, who hang out happily with droves of uniformly dreadlocked, tattooed and creatively pierced individualists. Some people love Arambol for all this; others turn up their noses and move along, leaving today’s long-stayers to enjoy the pretty beach and extensive ‘alternative’ shopping opportunities provided by nonstop stalls all the way down the beach road (known locally as ‘Glastonbury St’) and along round the cliff. If you’re looking for a committed traveller vibe, this is the place to come.

Shree Bhagavati

Located in Parshem city Goa, Sri Bhagavati Temple worships God Bhagavati or the Ashtabhuja Goddess. The Temple is one of the ancient temples in Goa. Tourists from all over visit Sri Bhagwati Temple Goa during the fairs and festivals. Situated 7 kms from Parshem, the temple of Sri Bhagavati is quite unique. There are two Deepstambhas in the Sri Bhagavati Temple Goa and the two festivals which are celebrated over here are Dussehra and annual Zatra. The Goan temples are quite unique in nature and distinctly different from the other Hindu Temples in India. There are exquisitely sculpted ancillary deities around the Sri Bhagavati Temple Goa.

Aguada Fort

This is the largest and the best-preserved Portuguese bastion in Goa and was built in 1609-12, to control the entry into the river Mandovi and to protect Old Goa from potential enemy attacks. A freshwater spring - from where the fort derives it's name - within the fort provided water supply to the ships that called there. Ringed by thick battlements, the heart of the fort was protected by two hundred cannons and a deep dry moat, which one still has to cross to get inside.alt Strategically located at the estuary of the river Mandovi, this fort was constructed in 1612 as a guard against invasions from the Dutch and the Marathas. The walls of this fort are 5 metres high and 1.3 metres wide. Little surprise then that this remains to be the only fort that was not conquered by any invaders during the 450 yearlong rule of the Portuguese empire.

Rustic Plantation

Situated on the extreme North-East of Goa at Dongruli village, Thane, Valpoi, Sattari, the plantation is a rejuvenating experience of a lifetime. Nestled in a valley amidst verdant grass and fruit bearing trees an rivulets, Rustic Plantation is an ideal getaway. This is a magnificent countryside sanctuary of nearly 100 acres of rural farmland nestled in the valley beneath the foothills of Western Ghats, situated in the north east part of Goa. This is the house of Achrekars, who moved from Mumbai to this heaven in Goa. Rustic Retreat has eleven cottages set in rural ambiance amidst cashew plantation. The retreat aims to be close to the nature, for instance, the swimming pool of the retreat is fed by a rivulet. 100 acres of plantation of Kaju, accacia mangium, coconut and teak wood. Excellent holiday resort by Sham & Ujwala Achrekar. Ideal for school camps, corporate seminars, one day picnics etc. Extra ordinarily good food and service. The Rustic Plantation is situated on the North-East of Goa You can find anything from spices like cloves, cinnamon, cardamom, chillies, cardomoms, black pepper, nutmeg, cloves, coriander, cashew and vanilla grown here

Pascoal Spice Village

8 kilometers away from Ponda National Highway, hidden under a canopy of verdant vegetation lies the Pascoal Spice Village. At its lower end lies the gently flowing Mandovi river adding only to the splendor of the scenery. Witness natures bounty at its best in this spice village with a variety of spice plantations and a myriad of crops including exotic nuts. The smell of the tropical fruits hanging temptingly on the trees is also quite a sight to catch. Boating can be enjoyed to the fullest in its premises. There is also an open air restaurant where you can have delicious food in the gorgeous environment

Belur

Bahubali

Bahubali also called Gommateshwara was a son of Arihant Adishwar. According to Jainism, he was the second of the hundred sons of the first Tirthankara, Rishabha and king of Podanpur. The Adipurana, a 10th-century Kannada text by poet Adikavi Pampa (fl. 941 CE), written in Champu style, a mix of prose and verse and spread over in sixteen cantos, deals with the ten lives of the first tirthankara, Rishabha and his two sons, Bharata and Bahubali.According to the Digambaras he was the first human in this half time cycle to attain liberation. A monolithic statue of Bahubali referred to as "Gommateshvara" built by the Ganga dynasty minister and commander Chamundaraya is a 57 feet (17 m) monolith and is situated above a hill in Shravanabelagola, in the Hassan district of Karnataka state, India. It was built in the 10th century AD.[citation needed] Hundreds of thousands of pilgrims, devotees and tourists from all over the world flock to the statue once in 12 years for an event known as Mahamastakabhisheka. On August 5, 2007, the statue was voted by Indians as the first of Seven Wonders of India. 49% votes went in favor of this marvel.

Hoyasaleeswara temple

Hoysaleswara Temple is one amongst the largest shrines that are dedicated to Lord Shiva in South India. In the 12th century, the temple was built during the rule of King Vishnuvardhana of Hoysala Empire. The construction of this marvelous shrine got completed in 1121 CE. Located at Halebid, Hoysaleshwara Temple can be easily reached from Belur (16 kms), Hassan (31 kms) and Mysore (149 kms) in Karnataka. Apart from these cities, Halebid is accessible from almost every city and town of Karnataka by regular buses and hired taxis. It is believed that the temple derived its name from Vishnuvardhana Hoysaleswara, the presiding ruler in those times. However, the erection of the temple was started and sponsored by the affluent Shaiva citizens (mainly Ketamalla and Kesarasetti) of Halebid. At the time of construction, a tough competition held between Hoysaleswara Temple and Chennakesava Temple at Belur. Hoysaleswara Temple witnessed ransack of loot and raid by the Muslim invaders in the early 14th century. After the horrifying incident, the temple was reduced to rubble and fell into the state of sheer neglect.

Kedareswara

Kedareshwara Temple (also spelt "Kedaresvara" or "Kedareshvara") is a Hoysala era construction in the historically important town of Halebidu, in the Hassan district of Karnataka state, India. It is located a short distance away from the famous Hoysaleswara Temple. The temple was constructed by Hoysala King Veera Ballala II (r. 1173-1220 A.D.) and his queen Ketaladevi, and the main deity is Ishwara (another name for the Hindu god Shiva). The temple is protected as a monument of national importance by the Archaeological Survey of India.According to art historian Adam Hardy, the temple was constructed before 1219 A.D and is constructed with Soap stone. The usage of Soap stone was first popularized by the Western Chalukyas before it became standard with the Hoysala architects of the 12th and 13th centuries. The temple stands on the platform called jagati which is typically five to six feet in height and which can be reached by a flight of steps. According to historian Kamath, this is a Hoysala innovation. Hoysala temples normally don't provide a path for circumambulation (pradakshinapatha) around the inner sanctum (garbhagriha). However, the platform provides this convenience in addition to giving the onlooker a good view of the wall relief and sculptures

Halibad

Hallabed

I like to survey the details of the carvings, the particular type of stone that was used, the devotion of the pilgrims visiting, the children playing among the colonades.....that sort of thing. But in case any of you care, the following is some historical background of Halebid courtesy of Lonely Planet: They think that Halebid has been inhabited since the 9th century. It was known as Dorasamudra, a name that apparently gives reference to a nearby artificial pond. Throughout the course of its existence, the temple has been pilaged at least twice by some bastard sultans from Delhi.The main structure of the temple was built somewhere around 1121. It was worked on for 80 years but never reached Feet in the past Feet in the past Feet in the past full completion. Apparently there's some spots where the dudes got lazy, but my undiscerning eye never saw those. The walls are covered with carvings of Hindu gods and goddesses with names like bob and sue....and yadda yadda yadda. See, this is why i don't hire guides. It was pretty and i liked it and we'll leave it at that.

Sharavanabelagola

is one of the most important Jain pilgrimage destinations in Hassan district. The 57 feet monolithic statue of the Bhagavan Gomateshwara Bahubali is located on the Vindyagiri. Bhagavan Gomateshwara Bahubali is considered to be the world's largest monolithic stone statue and was erected by Chamundaraya, a general of King Gangaraya. On arrival at Bangalore, transfer to the Bangalore International Airport or Railway Station. Belur, Halebid and Shravanabelagola Tour Package ends with the delightful memories.

Bijapur

Ibrahim rouza

The Ibrahim-Rauza, built by Ibrahim 'Adil Shah II (1580-1627), consists of his tomb and mosque within a square compound, both rising face to face from a common raised terrace, with a tank and fountain between them. The mosque has a rectangular prayer-chamber, with a facade of five arches, shaded by the chhajja and a slender minaret at each corner. Enclosed within a square fenestration rises the bulbous dome with a row of tall petals at its base. The square tomb with double aisles around it, the inner one pillared, has similar features but is finer in proportions. Two narrow arches, next to the ones at each end, break up its facade. On the interior, each wall has three arches, all panelled and embellished with floral, arabesque or inscriptional traceries. The tomb-chamber has a low curved ceiling made of joggled masonry, with empty space between it and the dome.

Bijapur Fort

The rich history of the fort, the citadel and other structures is subsumed in the history of Bijapur city, which was established in the 10th–11th centuries by the Kalyani Chalukyas. It was then known as Vijayapura (city of victory). The city came under the influence of the Khilji Sultanate in Delhi by the late 13th century. In 1347, the area was conquered by the Bahmani Sultanate of Gulbarga. By this time, the city was being referred as Vijapur or Bijapur. Yusuf Adil Shah, son of Murad II, the Sultan of Turkey had joined the Bidar court of the sultanate in 1481 under the then Sultan Mohammed III. He had been purchased as slave by Mahmud Gavan, the Prime Minister of the Kingdom. He was later, in 1481, appointed as the Governor of Bijapur for his loyalty and bravery shown in the active defense of the sultanate. The fort and the citadel or Arkilla and the Faroukh Mahal were built by him with the skilled architects and artisans whom he had inducted into his employment from Persia, Turkey and Rome. Yusuf declared himself independent of Sultan’s rule and thus established the Adil Shahi dynasty or the Bahmani kingdom, in 1489 (in 1482, the Bahmini empire broke into five kingdoms and Bijapur sultanate was one of them)

Shivagiri Temple

Lord Shiva Statue is an 85 feet tall Shiva Statue that has been installed by the T.K. Patil Banakatti Charitable Trust in Bijapur at Shivapur on Sindagi Road. It is slowly making as a pilgrimage location. 1,500 tonnes statue of Lord Shiva is considered as the second largest statue of Lord Shiva in India and was prepared by sculptors from Shimoga for above 13 months plus the civilian design was supplied by Bangalore-situated architects. Basanta Vana is an 85 ft tall idol of Lord Shiva that is made of cement and steel. Counted among the tallest idols of Lord Shiva, it is situated around 3 km from Bijapur City on the Ukkali Road in the village of Rambapur. It was unveiled on 26 February 2006 on the day of Shivarathri. It was designed by the civil engineers of Bangalore and was built by the sculptors of Shimoga. Beneath the statue, a small Shiva Linga has been placed. www.shivagiri.com Lord Shiva Statue : The 85-foot (26 m) tall statue of Lord Shiva installed by the T.K. Patil Banakatti Charitable Trust in Bijapur at Shivapur on Sindagi Road is gradually developing as a pilgrimage place.1,500 tonnes statue considered as the third biggest statue of Lord Shiva (Fourth tallest statue of Lord Shiva in world) in the country was prepared by sculptors from Shimoga for more than 13 months and the civilian design was provided by Bangalore-based architects. The statue weighs around 1,500 tonnes.

Alihole

Aihoḷe was earlier known as Ayyavoḷe and Aryapura in its inscriptions. It was established in 450 CE as first capital of Chalukya kings and has about 125 stone temples, some which were constructed as experimental structures by artisans of Chalukyan period. A place known by the name Morera Angadigalu near the Meguti hillocks has a large number of cists of pre-historic period. The place was an agraharam. Aihoḷe has been described as one of the cradles of temple architecture. Some brick structures of pre-Chalukyan times have also been excavated in this village. Poetry on stone at the Meguti temple (Aihole inscription) dated 634 CE, in Sanskrit language and old Kannada script An important 8th century inscription in Old-Kannada language and script at the Lad Khan temple, records a grant to Brahmins According to mythology Aihole is the place where Parashurama washed his axe after killing the Kshatriyas.[citation needed] Aihole has historical significance and is called as cradle of Hindu rock architecture (Cradle of Indian architecture). Pulakesi I, one of the greatest rulers of this dynasty, moved the capital to Badami nearby. Badami was then known as Vatapi. It is from these temples that the Chalukyas gained their experience and went on to build the great temples of Pattadakal. The first phase of temple building in Aihole dates back to the 6th century CE, the second phase up to the 12th century CE.

Saint Basaveshwara Pilgrim

Basava lso known as Bhakti Bhandari Basavanna was an Indian philosopher, statesman, Kannada poet and a social reformer in what is now Karnataka, India. Basava fought against the practice of the caste system, which discriminated against people based on their birth, and other rituals in Hinduism. He spread social awareness through his poetry, popularly known as Vachanaas. Basavanna used Ishtalinga, an image of the Śiva Liṅga, to eradicate untouchability, to establish equality among all human beings and as a means to attain spiritual enlightenment. These were rational and progressive social thoughts in the twelfth century. Basaveshwara is undoubtedly one of the pioneer's of Indian Democracy. He created a model Parliament called the "Anubhava Mantapa," which not only gave equal proportion to men and women, but also had representatives from different socioeconomic backgrounds. The carvings of the model Parliament can be found across many temples in south India. He was a man ahead of his time, who believed that conflict should be resolved through debate and not violence. He advocated mercy towards both humans and animals.

sMalik-e-Maidan

sMalik e Maidan, literally translated as "monarch of the plains" or "Lord of the Battlefield” is a huge cannon located on the top of the tower lying in the precinct of the Bijapur Fort. The Fort is located in Bijapur, some 500 kms from the city of Bangalore. It was erected by Ibrahim Adil Shah II and is now located in the fort on its western ramparts between two bastions. The Malik e Maidan also known as the Burj-E-Sherz is said to be the largest weapon ever built in medieval times. The muzzle of the cannon has been fashioned into the shape of a lion head with open jaws, and between the jaws are inscribed elephants to make it look like the lion is devouring the elephant .It is made of a cast of alloy of copper, iron and tin. The interesting thing about the cannon is that its surface does not get hot even under the blazing sun and when struck sounds like a bell.

Basavana Bagevadi

Basavana Bagewadi town is a historic place where Shri Lord of Basavna (Basaveshwar) or (Basavanna) was born, the birthplace call as “Basava Smarak” now comes under Kudala Sangama Authority department of Basavana Bagewadi. The Basaveshwar Temple was constructed in the 11th century during the rule of the Chalukya dynasty. Shri Lord Basaveshwar is famous for his religion 'Veerashiva Lingayat Dharma' and became 'Lord of World' as he is very good in this new religion and informed peoples to make 'Kayaka' (Work) ie.Kayakave Kailasa (Work is Worship)

Goa

Shree Shantadurga temple

Situated 33 kms from Panajim, Shree Shantadurga temple has an impressive idol of Goddess Shree Durga who mediated between Shree Vishnu and Shree Shiva and stopped the fiercefull war going on between the two. She is flanked by Vishnu and Shiva on both the sides. The temples of Shree Shantadurga and Shree Mangesh, two of the most revered patron deities of the Hindu Goud Saraswat Brahmin community are located in Kavlem and Mangeshi respectively in the Ponda district of North Goa. This avatar of Shree Jagdamba devi which had come to make peace [Shanti] between Shree Vishnu and Shree Shiva, came to be known as Shree Shantadurga devi. The original place of Shree Shantadurga devi was at Keloshi. From there devi was shifted to Kavlem during the rule of portuguese government. This current temple structure of Shree Shantadurga devi was built during the period from 1713 a.d to 1738 a.d. Many renovations have been done over the years to the main temple and to the temples of other deities besides the agarshala [guest house] which is built on three sides of the temple.

Chapora Beach

Chapora Beach is a coastal village at Chapora River estuary lying alongside a beach stretch in North Goa that is around 10 km. from Mapusa, a City in Northern Goa. It is close to Chapora Fort, an old Portuguese fort. Chapora is also close to a trawler-fishing jetty. Chapora is home to many cheapest travel accommodation houses found in entire Northern Goa. There is a famous Ganesh fruit juice center in Chapora selling organic juices and gathering people from around. Chapora (disambiguation) Wikimedia Commons has media related to Chapora. Stub icon This article related to a location in the Indian state of Goa is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.

Cathedral

The Se Cathedral's tower houses a large bell known as the "Golden Bell" on account of its rich tone. It is said to be the largest in Goa, and one of the best in the world. The main altar is dedicated to Catherine of Alexandria, and there are several old paintings on either side of it. On the right there is a Chapel of the Cross of Miracles, where a vision of Christ is said to have appeared in 1919. There are six main panels, on which scenes from the life of Saint Catherine are carved. There is a huge gilded reredos above the main altar. The Se Cathedral also houses a baptismal font made in 1532 which was used by Saint Francis Xavier, the patron saint of Goa, in order to baptise several Goan converts.

Arambol Beach

The Arambol Beach located 50 kms from Panaji is a pristine and secluded beach in the North Goa and can be approached by a winding road through the groove of cashew trees. It is a rocky as well as sandy beach and has a fresh water lagoon which extends along the bottom of the valley into a thick jungle The lake is fed by boiling hot springs and is lined with sulphurous mud which people love applying on their body to do wonders to their skin. The Arambol Beach extends over 16 km and consists of two beaches, more popular is the main beach (Harmal beach), the northernmost beach in Goa . The second, more picturesque beach lies beyond the rocky circlet and can only be reached on foot and is bordered by steep cliffs on both sides.

Aguada Fort

An interesting feature in the precinct of the fort is a 13 metre high lighthouse. This lighthouse, built in 1864, initially used an oil lamp. It was later renovated and modernised in 1976. This lighthouse was home to a gigantic bell that was retrieved from amongst the ruins of the St. Augustus monastery at Old Goa. However, the bell has now been moved to the Our Lady of Immaculate Conception church at Panaji. Though the entire fort is no longer intact, some buildings that are still in good shape have been converted into a prison. Interestingly, it happens to be the largest prison in Goa. En-oute to the fort, one comes across the church of St. Lawrence, the saint of the sailors. The Portuguese used to build churches on the outskirts of the forts to prevent the enemy from firing at a close range.

Rustic Plantation

Have you ever wondered where your powdered Cinnamon came from, and what is mace?. Are spices for you small plastic bags with colourful powder? If 'yes' is your answer, you should visit the Spice Plantations scattered around the interior of Goa's beautiful rural landscape. altGoa is a state which is gifted with incredible natural beauty from her beaches and gently rolling hills to her Vegetation and Animal life. The mild temperature throughout the year and high rainfall favour great richness and a variety of vegetation. Traditional Goan methods of organic farming are conducted here and crops like coconuts, betel nuts, pineapples, different kinds of spices ad much more are grown here. You can have a walk in the plantation with a local person briefing you about the crops, roots and herbs

Pascoal Spice Village

A major attraction in the rural side of Goa is its spice plantations. The spice plantations are situated in and around Ponda, which is away from the main tourist attractions of Goa. Goa's dense forested areas and favourable climatic conditions make it a perfect location to grow the spices liberally used in its cuisine.The spices that are produced are then cleaned and ground into powder. The spice plantations are managed by people who have comprehensive knowledge and excel in technical know how of farming spices. Apart from spices variety of tropical fruits are also grown like Custard apples, Papaya, Bananas, Pineapples, Citrus fruits etc. Practically all the spice farms use organic methods of cultivation. You can get a guided tour of the plantation and enjoy a mouth-watering Goan Saraswat buffet lunch at some farms.

Badambi

Banashankari Temple

This area is one of the oldest areas in Bangalore. It subsumes areas such as Hanumanthanagar, Srinagar, Nagendra Block, Muneshwara Block, Kalidasa Layout, Raghavendra Block, Avalahalli, Brindavan Nagar and Ashok Nagar. This part of Banashankari is well known for the Ramanjaneya Temple and 'Kumara Swamy Devasthana. The PES College is also located here. This area is close to Jayanagar. It is home to eminent persons such as Devegowda, Anil Kumble and Ramesh Arvind. It has two well known hills, Banagiri, housing the Varasiddhi Vinayaka Temple and Devagiri, housing the Venkateshwara Temple. It and its sublocalities mentioned later in the section are a cosmopolitan area (where people from different parts of India having different cultures reside in harmony), unlike the 1st and 3rd stages, which have a predominantly Kannada speaking population. Along with Kathriguppe, it is the main commercial area of Banashankari. Mindtree has its office in this area. It also subsumes areas like Kadirenahalli, Yarab Nagar, Karesandra and Kaveri Nagar.

Badami fort

The Badami Fort with its entrance guarded by Nandi (Shiva’s bull), is immersed in archaeological splendour and culture that takes you back to pre-historic times. This beautiful fort is spread across two hills and further divided into North Fort and South Fort. It is believed that once upon a time, North Fort housed Tipu Sultan’s treasury. The steps which lead to the forts are steep and strenuous and hence one has to be careful while climbing them. In 5th century, King Pulakeshi II had built two ‘Shivalayas’ with Upper Shivalaya devoted to Lord Vishnu and Lower Shivalaya devoted to Ganesha. The entire wall of Shivalaya is depicted with mythological tales and showcase beautiful sculptures of elephants and horses. A watchtower stands tall near the Lower Shivalaya and it is believed to be built in the 14th century. The fort also houses granaries and treasure sites, which are worth seeing as they remind us of the glorious days of our Indian history.

Agasthya

The lake is named after one of the Saptarishis, Agasthya. Legend says that the name Badami has origin in the Vatapi legend of Ramayana relating to Sage Agastya. There were two demon siblings Vatapi and Ilvala. They used to kill all mendicants by tricking them in a peculiar way. The elder Ilvala would turn Vatapi into a ram and would offer its meat to the guest. As soon as the person ate the meat, Ilvala would call out the name of Vatapi. As he had a boon that whomsoever Ilvala calls would return from even the netherland,[citation needed] Vatapi would emerge ripping through the body of the person, thus killing him. Their trick worked until Sage Agastya countered them by digesting Vatapi before Ilvala could call for him, thus ending the life of Vatapi at the hands of Ilvala. Two of the hills in Badami represent the demons Vatapi and Ilvala.

Le temple de Durga

Le temple dit Durga doit son nom non pas à la déesse mais au nom de la forteresse "durga" , nom qui pourrait s'expliquer par l'enceinte qui devait l'entourer. Il est de plan oblong et absydal. Ce type de plan oblong est inspiré des temples rupestres bouddhiques.A cette partie oblongue est adjoint un porche que vous povez voir avec la barre de navigation. On ne sait pas à quel dieu il était dédié, les représentations de Vishnu étant aussi nombreuses que celles de Shiva. Tout autour un péristyle délimite un déambulatoire faisant le tour du temple proprement dit dont les murs sont couverts de sculptures de différents dieux ou déesses. Le temple est daté du VIIème siècle.

Le temple de Ladh khan

The Lad Khan Temple, dedicated to Shiva, is a one of the oldest Hindu temples and is located in Aihole in the state of Karnataka, India. It was built in the 5th century by the kings of the Chalukya dynasty. It is located to the south of the Durga Temple. The temple is named after a person named Lad khan, who turned this temple into his residence for a short period and this is the oldest temple of Aihole.The temple consists of a shrine (garba griha) with mandapa in front of it. The mukha mandapa is situated in front of the sanctum and consists of a set of 12 carved pillars. The sabha mandapa leads to the maha mandapa and the pillars are arranged to form two concentric squares. The walls have floral patterns on them and the windows have lattice work done in the northern style. Facing the sanctum, a second smaller sanctum is situated above the center of the hall whose outer walls have many carved images.] Originally dedicated to Vishnu,[5] now the main shrine houses a Shiva Linga with a Nandi.[1] The temple was built in a Panchayatana style, indicating a very early experiment in temple construction.

Les temple de Mallikarjuna et Virupashka

Les temples de Bhutanatha sont deux groupes de temples hindouistes en grès dédiés à la divinité Bhutanatha, situés aux bords du lac Agasthya dans la ville de Badami dans l'état du Karnataka en Inde. Il existe deux principaux groupes de temples : Sur la rive est du lac, le groupe principal, parfois appelé temples inférieurs présente une architecture dravidienne primitive avec une grande salle de type mandapa, mais ouverte et donnant une vue sur le lac. Sur la rive nord du lac, se trouve le groupe de temples Mallikarjuna, parfois appelé temples supérieurs », a une superstructure en degrés, typique de l'architecture des Chalukyas occidentaux1. Le groupe principal vu de l'autre côté. Le sanctuaire et le mandapa intérieur du temple principal ont été construits à la fin du VIIe siècle sous le règne de la dynastie des Chalukyas de Badami (encore appelés Chalukyas orientaux). Alors que le mandapa extérieur en face du bassin de Badami a été construit pendant le règne des Chalukyas de Kalyani (encore appelés Chalukyas occidentaux) au XIe siècle dont relèvent aussi les temples Mallikarjuna et le temple voisin de Yellama.

Aihole

Aihole, Badami and Pattadakal near Bijapur in Karnataka are centers of Early Chalukyan art. Badami is located at a distance of about 500 km from Bangalore, the capital of Karnataka and is well connected by road Aihole was the first capital of the early Chalukyas. Aihole is to the west of Badami, along the Malaprabha river, while Pattadakal is to the east. Pulakesi I, one of the greatest rulers of this dynasty, moved the capital to Badami nearby. Badami was then known as Vatapi. The first phase of temple building in Aihole dates back to the 6th century CE, the second phase to the 12th century. The Ravanaphadi temple is a rock cut temple, with a rectangular shrine, with two mandapams in front of it and a rock cut Shivalingam. This temple dates back to the second half of the 7th century. The prominent temple groups here are the Kontigudi group and the Galaganatha group.

Guledgud

Guledgudda is a town situated in the Bagalkot district of the southern state of India, Karnataka. Guledgud is linked by road to Badami. The prime attraction here is a fort built by Singappa Naik Desai, an officer of Ibrahim Adil Shah II of Bijapur, in the 16th century. The city is also known for its beautiful temples and the darga of Sayyad Basha. The India census report published in 2001 states that Guledgudda had a population of 33,991. Males and females constitute an equal proportion of the population. In Guledgudda, 12% of the population is less than six years of age. What is worth mentioning is the literacy rate of this town, which is 66%. The literacy rate is higher than the nationwide average literacy rate of 59.5%. The female literacy rate is 55% and the male literacy rate is 76%. The town is renowned for its handloom sarees, which is in great demand. Weaving is the main occupation of the people living here and therefore weavers dominate the town.

Lakkundi

Lakkundi is paradise of temples. Lakkundi is located at a distance of 11 km South-East of Gadag in Gadag district. As per the inscriptions, Lakkundi is also called as 'Lokki Gundi' in the inscription; which was a prominent city a thousand years back. Lakkundi is a place of antiquarian interest, with more than 50 ancient temples scattered throughout the village, 101 stepped wells which are also called as Kalyani and many inscriptions that are built during the rule of the Chalukyas, Kalachuris, Seuna and Hoysalas. Kasi Vishwanatha Temple is the most ornate and elaborately furnished. Lakkundi is also an important Jain center. There is a Jain Temple dedicated to Mahavira, the largest & ancient shrines at Lakkundi. The architecture of the Chalukyas of Kalyana are said to be a link between those of the early Chalukyas of Badami and the Hoysalas who succeeded them. Lakkundi is also noted for its steep wells, artistically built with small, canopied niches inside the walls of several wells that enshrine lingas.

Mahakuta

Mahakuta is a place of religious significance for Shaivites. It is situated in Bagalkot in Karnataka, a few kilometers away from Badami.The Mahakuta Group of Temples was built during the 6th to 8th century AD. The temples share the common Chalukya style found in Badami, Aihole and Pattadakal. The two inscriptions discovered in the Mahakuteswara temple make it an important site for historians.Mahakuta is a place of religious and historic significance. The temples here are in the Badami Chalukyan style, reflecting the designs of temples in Aihole. Of special significance to historians are the two inscriptions found here- the Pillar Inscription and the Porch Inscription. The Pillar Inscription, especially, helps in the reconstruction of the Chalukyan Dynasty’s history.

Somnathpur

The Kesava temple

The temple was commissioned by King Vishnuvardhana in 1117 AD. Scholars are divided about the reasons for the construction of the temple. The military successes of Vishnuvardhana is considered a probable reason. Some scholars believe Vishnuvardhana commissioned the temple to surpass his overlord, King Vikramaditya VI of the Western Chalukya Empire (who ruled from Basavakalyan), after his initial military victories against the Chalukyas. According to another theory, Vishnuvardhana was celebrating his famous victory against the Chola dynasty of Tamil country in the battle of Talakad (1116 AD), which resulted in the annexation of Gangavadi (modern southern Karnataka) by the Hoysalas. Another theory points to Vishnuvardhana's conversion from Jainism to Vaishnavism (a sect of Hinduism) after coming under the influence of saint Ramanujacharya, considering this is a predominantly Vaishnava temple in sculptural iconography. The Hoysalas employed many noted architects and artisans who developed a new architectural tradition, which art critic Adam Hardy called the Karnata Dravida tradition.

Narasipur

Tirumakudalu-Narasipura , officially known as T.Narasipura,is a panchayat town in Mysuru district in the Indian state of Karnataka. The first letter “T” of the name (T.Narasipura) refers to Tirumakudalu, the confluence of the Kaveri, Kabini and Spatika Sarovar (a hidden mythical lake or spring, also named Gupta Gamini)and the peninsular town at this location is also called Tirumakudlu (Trimakuta in Sanskrit). This is the only place in South India where three rivers meet, and the only place where Kumbhamela is held in south India every three years. It finds a mention in the Skanda Purana as one of the Trimakuta Kshetras (holy places with the confluence of three rivers. The word 'Narasipur' is the name of the town, which is derived from the famous Gunja Narasimhaswamy temple that is located on the right bank of the Kabini river. Considered as sacred as Prayag (confluence of the Ganga, the Yamuna and the Saraswati at Prayag – Varanasi - Kashi in North India), it is also known as Dakshina Kashi. The town finds its mention, both as a tourist place and a pilgrimage centre.

Bannur

Bannur Tmc Has Been Constituted in 1952 as TMC Then at 1995 it Transffered as TP And then as per 2001 Census again tranferred as TMC at 2007. Bannur has the Highway of Mysore-Malavalli Road and just 25km away from Historical City, MYSORE. it is stretches to an area of 7.5 Sq.m and it has 23 wards and Same No. of Councillors and 5 Members of Nominee Councillors. The phrase “HASI BHATTA, BISI BELLA” which signifies the prominance of Bannur town. It is famous for “ PADDY & JAGGRY”.Bannur town is surrounded by Historical Towns like Srirangapatna, Somanathpura ,Mysore, T.Narasipura, Talakadu and ‘SHIMSHA’ ad the town Consists of ancient temple's of Lord Theertha Rameshwara , Kodanda Rama, Eshwara & Hemadramba. It’s on the banks of the "Southern Ganga's"-River Cauvery.

Malavalli

Malavalli town is a very vibrant and active rural market. It stretches for a whole length of 4 km. There are two colleges in Malavalli. The government college is a little away from the town and Shanthi College is in the very middle of the town. Nearby are the Shivanasamudra waterfalls. Somanathapura Hoysala temple. Muthathi forest and Bheemeshwari Cauveri fishing camp near Halagur town. Also, Athmalingeshwara Kshethra near Bharathinagar (around 13 km from Malavalli) is of equal importance.

Hampi

Tungabhadra Dam

The Tungabhadra Dam is constructed across the Tungabhadra River, a tributary of the Krishna River. The dam is near the town of Hospet in Karnataka. It is a multipurpose dam serving irrigation, electricity generation, flood control, etc. This is a joint project of erstwhile Hyderabad state and erstwhile Madras Presidency when the construction was started; later it became a joint project of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh after its completion in 1953. The dam creates the biggest reservoir on the Tungabhadra River with 101 thousand million cubic feet (tmc) of gross storage capacity at full reservoir level (FRL) 498 m MSL, and a water spread area of 378 square kilometres. The dam is 49.5 meters high above its deepest foundation.

Virupaksha Temple

Virupaksha temple is the oldest and the principal temple in Hampi. This temple is located on the south bank of the river Tungabadra, just next to where the local bus drops you. This area in general has been an important pilgrimage centre for the worshipers of lord Shiva. Virupaksha temple is equally sort after by the tourists and pilgrims. The annual festivals attract huge crowds of both the types. The very origin of Hampis history as a sacred place revolves around the myths associated with this temple. It believed that this temple has been functioning uninterruptedly ever since its inception in the 7th century AD.That makes this one of the oldest functioning temples in India.The original worship place was only a few separate humble shrines (believed to be as old as 7th century) housing the image of the god and the goddesses. Over the centuries the temple gradually expanded into a sprawling complex with many sub shrines, pillared halls, flag posts, lamp posts, towered gateways and even a large temple kitchen. You access the temples main entrance tower through the chariot street in front now popularly called the Hampi Bazaar.

Queen's bath

The only reason we are including the Queen's Bath on our list of beaches on Kauai is to dissuade you from going there at all. At the time of this writing I am not exactly certain how many people have lost their lives here but a year has passed by since the official tally had reached 29 persons. As far as we are concerned at Tom Barefoot's Tours, this place is way "off the charts" dangerous. When I was a kid there was a traffic fatality at a newly constructed highway intersection and the town went ballistic because of misleading signage and did everything they could to get the word out so no further deaths would occur. This mind you was based upon one death only. By any reasonable standard the statistics of deaths and near drownings at Queen's Bath qualifies this place as a "slaughter house". The risk/reward ratio of on the one side, you cheating death to have a good time in the ocean, and on the other side being hauled out of this place lifeless by paramedics, is not a worthwhile gamble.

Vittala Temple

Vittala Temple is a 16th century structure that is dedicated to the Lord Vittala or Lord Vishnu. It is a 'must see' site for all tourists going to Hampi because of its beautiful, complex carvings and magnificent architecture, which is not matched by any other structure located here. This temple, situated on the southern bank of the Tungabhadra River, represents the original South Indian Dravidian temple architectural style. Vitthala Temple was constructed during the reign of King Devaraya II and epitomises the style followed by Vijayanagara Empire. Visitors are instantly struck by the ornate pillars and intricate carvings of the temple. The outstanding feature of Vitthala Temple is the Ranga Mantapa and 56 musical pillars, which emanate music upon tapping. The smaller sanctum is open for general public whereas the monumental decoration can be viewed in the bigger outer house. A chariot carved is another major attraction that is present in the courtyard of this temple. Located in the east side of the campus, it has stone wheels that can move despite the weight of the chariot. Numerous pavilions, temples and halls have also been built within the temple complex.

Monolithic Ganesha

There are about nine monolithic temples at Mahabalipuram. They are the unique contribution of the Pallavas to Indian Art. The monolithic temples are called locally as Ratha (Chariot) as they resemble the processional chariots of a temple. The Five rathas, the best of all monolithic temples, are hewn out of a huge boulder. Temples of different plan and elevation have been carved and the left over portions were intelligently used to carve animals in a natural way. The naming of these ratha, after Pandavas and their wife, the heroes of epic Mahabharata, is simply a local tradition. General view of the Monolithic temples, known as Five Rathas, From left to right: Draupadi, Nakula-Sahadeva, Bhima and Dharmaraja Rathas Among the Five rathas, Dharmaraja ratha is the most impressive and sculpturally rich. The tritala (three storeyed) vimana, square in its talas but octagonal in the griva sikhara region, faces west.The sculptures around the sanctum in the corner blocks depict simple forms of Siva, Harihara, Brahma-Sasta, Brahma, a delicately balanced representation of Ardhanarisvara besides a portrait of a king, possibly Narasimhavarman I himself above which his titles Sri Megha and Trailokiya –vardhana-vidhi are inscribed. The upper floors.

Hazara Rama Temple

The first thing comes to mind on seeing this temple, or more precisely its walls, is the locally popular comic strips of Hindu mythology, Ramayana. But the difference is, the stories are carved, in long arrays, onto the walls of this temple. This is not a huge temple by Hampi’s yardstick. But this temple at the heart of the royal area has some peculiarities. Firstly it had been functioning as a private temple for the king, or at the most, the royal family. The importance of this temple can be judged from its nodal location in the royal area. Your paths to various locations within the citadel concur at a corner of this temple. Probably this is the only temple in the capital with its external walls decorated with bas-reliefs mentioned above. And the temple got its name Hazara Rama (a thousand Rama) Temple owing to this multitude of these Ramayana panels on its walls. A sprawling lawn located at the north of this temple is an easy landmark you can spot from a distance. The dusty path that connects the Royal Enclosure with the Zenena Enclosure passes along the temple courtyard. Also the path from Danaik’s Enclosure and Underground Shiva Temple joins this path at its northeastern corner.

Kodandarama Temple

This river facing shrine looks humble but religiously significant. According to the local myths, this is the place where Rama killed Vali and crowned Sugreeva. The name Kodandarama means crowned Rama, in local dialect The sacred bathing spot in front is one of the holiest spots for the pilgrims to Hampi (see Chakratirtha). You can see long ancient pavilions next to this temple that have been used by the pilgrims as a rest place for many centuries. Like mentioned earlier this is more known for it’s religious importance than for the architectural peculiarity. Three very tall statues of Rama, Sita and Lakshmana are enclosed in the sanctum. The idols are sort of deep bas-relief carved on a huge boulder at the hillside. The sanctum and the pillared pavilion are added arround it at a later stage . During peak monsoon season the river-water rises and sometimes reaches up to the temple courtyard.

Hemakutam Temple

This is not one of the tallest hills in Hampi. But this hilltop and its slops offer a splendid view of the sprawling ruins site. This hill is sprinkled generously with a large number of temples, archways and pavilions. The whole of the hill was fortified with tall wide stonewalls, the ruined remains of which can be still be seen. Once you have reached the top (about 15 minutes climb) , it’s almost a flat expanse of rocky sheet with occasional ups and downs. Hemakuta Hill is one among the best places in Hampi to see the sunrise and sunset; and not as tedious to reach the top say compared to the Matanga Hill nearby, which is boasted as the best location to watch sunset in Hampi. So if you find it difficult to make it to Matanga Hill for sunset view, try from Hemakuta Hill.

Shiva Temple

An ancient ruined city, once the capital of a glorious dynasty, Hampi is scattered with equally magnificent ruins sure to send a thrill up the adventurous spine of even the most equable traveler. Fantastic images of secret underground tunnels and lost treasures are expected. Completing Hampi's exciting sublimity is the Shiva temple, built several meters below ground level. Flooded with water for better of the year, the temple is possibly one of the oldest that are there in Hampi. A flat roofed main tower has steps leading down to the temple's main hall with thick pillars. There is a water canal going around the temple along with a lush garden that carpets its surroundings. The inner sanctum once housed the idol of Lord Shiva, but today only the pedestal remains. Frequently, especially during monsoons, the temple is flooded with water and most of its chambers remain inaccessible. However, during summers in particular, the chambers may be dry or partly filled with water. While the stone pillars are devoid of the usual engravings and carvings, the thrill of wading in knee high water towards the inner sanctum filled with bats makes the temple yet another must visit sites of Hampi

Underground Temple

For some curious reasons, this temple dedicated for Lord Siva was built many meters below the ground level. For this reason, almost all the time the sanctum and the core parts of the temple are under water, restricting entry to the inner areas.Underground Shiva Temple: A water canal system too is visible around the main temple. But this canal is dry and you can walk down to a point from where it’s impossible to go further. There is a small temple for Siva’s consort too near the mail shrine. The Kalyanamantapa (ceremonial marriage hall) is a great looking structure. It has been believed that this is one of the oldest temples in Hampi.

Le ville Royale

La ville comme telle ne paye pas de mine et la première impression pourrait vous donner envie de déguerpir, mais à y regarder de plus près, on est vite fasciné par les amples coupoles des extraordinaires tombeaux musulmans qui constellent le paysage. Leur beauté efface la mocheté urbaine ambiante. À la réception de l’hôtel où nous nous arrêtons, l’ironiquement nommé Sapna International, le jeune homme a l’air d’avoir envie de nous demander si nous ne serions pas Martiens, par hasard. C’est un hôtel d’«affaires», avec hall d’entrée aux murs écaillés et divans défoncés. Des hommes en chemise blanche discutent de choses apparemment importantes. La chambre coûte 10 $ et The Times of India est glissé sous votre porte chaque matin. Que demander de mieux? Au sous-sol, le restaurant a été fermé parce qu’on y employait des enfants. Pourquoi celui-là et pas un autre? Un peu plus loin, à la porte du chic resto-bar de l’hôtel Mayura, glauque et sympathique, deux pasteurs indiens d’une Église évangéliste, fort ivres, nous invitent à venir chez eux boire un coup et lire la Bible.

Monolithic Narasimha

Photograph of a monolithic statue of Narasimha at Vijayanagara, from the Archaeological Survey of India Collections taken by an unknown photographer around 1880. This huge rock-cut sculpture, around 6.7 metres high, represents Vishnu in his man-lion incarnation, seated beneath a serpent's hood. It dates from 1528 and was donated by Krishnadeva Raya (r.1510-29). Vijayanagara was founded on the bank of the Tungabhadra River in the 14th century and was the most powerful Hindu kingdom in Southern India until the defeat by the Muslim armies in 1565.

Saravanabelagula

Halebid

At a distance of 17 Kms from Belur, 38 Kms from Chikmagalur, 32 Kms from Hassan & 211 Kms from Bangalore, Halebid (or Halebidu) is famous for the beautiful Hoysala Temples of Hoysaleswara and Kedareswara built in 1121 AD. It's one of the three Hoysala temples listed in UNESCO World Heritage Sites (other two being the temples at Belur & Somnathpur). Halebid was the capital of the Hoysala Empire in 12th century. It was also known as Dorasamudra or Dwarasamudra. Halebidu literally means ruined city. This name is given because this city was ruined two times by Bahmani Sultanate. Ketumalla, the chief of staff of Hoysala Kingdom, built this temple during 1121 AD and attributed to his king, Vishnuvardhana and queen Shantala Devi. The construction of the temple took about 105 years to complete. The temple town comprises two Hindu temples, the Hoysaleshwara and Kedareshwara temples and two Jain basadis.

Statue of Lord Bahubali

One of the holiest Jain pilgrimages, Shravanabelagola is synonymous with the colossal monolithic statue of Jain saint Lord Gomateshwara. Shravanabelagola occupies a significant place in the Jain legacy of Karnataka, for being the place where Chandragupta, the founder of the Mauryan dynasty, became a Jain ascetic after relinquishing his throne. The place where Chandragupta breathed his last was named Chandragiri. The gigantic statue of Lord Gomateshwara has been the piece de resistance among a multitude of Jain architectures in Sravanabelagola. The statue, created around 983 AD by Chamundaraya, a general and minister of the Ganga King Rachamatta, stands atop the Indragiri hill and at a height of 18 meters, is regarded the tallest monolithic statue in the world. During the auspicious event of Mahamastakabhisheka, held in Sravanbelagola once in 12 years, attracts a huge number of devout worshippers from all over the world.

Chandragiri Hills

Chandragiri hill has basadi’s (tombs/shrines) of Jinalayas. The name Chandragiri is named against the great emperor Chandragupta Maurya who fasted here with purity of thought until he attained salvation. The earliest temple on this hill is dated back to 04th century BC. The Chandragiri hill becomes sacred because of the arrival of the fifth and the last Shrutakevali Bhadrabahu, who remained here until his last breath, fasting in the caves with purity of thought until salvation. The Basadi’s and Manasathambhas (flagmasts) constructed are mirror to the architectural excellence prevailed in the early days in the Indian subcontinent. The stone inscriptions found on the rocks date back to 06th century AD and 12th century AD and are the largest in terms of numbers as compared to inscriptions found at other places in the state of Karnataka The Chavundaraya Basadi is a great example of Dravidian engineering when compared to the time it was built. There is a first floor to this Basadi led by narrow stairs from the ground. A standing idol of Tirthankara is installed here, dating back to 10th century AD.

Chavundaraya Basthi

Chavundaraya Basti (rear view): Architechturally very interesting and historically immensely important, the Chavundaraya basti was either built by Chavundaraya or named after him. The granite structure is a perfect specimen of Ganga workmanship (10th century) and of Dravidian architectural features. Though, the outer walls are plain, the parapet and the tower are ornate. A row of swans below the eaves, the horse shoe shaped arches on the cornice, a row of sea horse or lion faced fish at the lower most row of the parapet, a row of large reliefs of Tirthankaras, Yakshas, Yakshis, Gandharvas, elephants, and other reliefs and the gable shaped crowning architectural members are of absorbing interest. We find here some of the finest creations of the Indian artists. The architectural pattern is repeated on the tower. The tower is perfect, proportionate and compact. The sanctum houses an image of Neminatha carved by a famous Hoysala artist Gangachari, son of Hoysalachari. In the vestibule are the sculptures of Sarvahna Yaksha and Ambika Yakshi of Hoysala period 912th century). A narrow staircase at the south east corner leads to the upper storey. There is a standing image of Tirthankara of 10th century AD in the upper storey of the temple. An inscription on the pedestal of this image states that it was made by the son of Chavundaraya.

Bhadrabahuman Cave

Outside the fort enclosure, on the south-east, there is a cave with a recently erected portico known as the Bhadrabahucave. According to tradition the Srutakevali Bhadrabahu came to Shravanabelagola and lived in the cave. The cave enshrines the engraved foot-prints of this Srutakevali who died here. The foot-prints are worshipped even now. It is also stated that the Maurya Emperor Chandragupta came here on a pilgrimage and having received diksha or initiation from Acharya Badrabahu, was worshipping the footprints until his death. The tradition regarding the migration of Srutakevali Bhadrabahu to Shravanabelagola along with his disciple Chandragupta, the Maurya Emperor, briefly runs thus: Bhadrabahu, the last Srutakevali, predicted at Ujjain a twelve years drought and famine in the north, where upon the Jaina community migrated to the south under his leadership. Chandragupta abdicated and accompanied Bhadrabahu. On reaching Shravanabelagola, Bhadrabahu perceived the approach of his last moments, ordered the community to proceed on their journey and remained there until his death with his disciple Chandragupta.