Our Tour Places


Marina Beach

Tourism in Chennai encompasses handsomely carved temples, quiet beaches, colonial monuments and much more. Exploring Chennai can be wondrous with its magnificence, rightly called the 'Gateway to South India'. With its historic landmarks and buildings, cultural and art centers and parks, Chennai`s tourism offers umpteen interesting locations to visitors. One of the most important tourist attractions of Chennai is actually situated in the neighbouring town of Mahabalipuram, with its ancient temples and rock carvings of the 7th century.On and around the beaches, there are many adventurous things to do as well as to observe. Some of the beaches have the facilities for indulging water sports while others include attractions like monument, fort, temple, church, etc in the vicinity. You can also see fishing villages and their way of living near the beach. Thus, these various things along with the natural beauty of the beaches make them even more appealing and unique. The pictorial view of sunset at the Bay of Bengal is really enthralling and breathtaking and to watch this divine view, people from all over the world comes to visit the capital city of Tamil Nadu.

Kapaleeshwarar Temple

Kapaleeshwarar Temple is a temple of Shiva located in Mylapore, Chennai in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The form of Shiva's wife Parvati worshipped at this temple is called Karpagambal.The temple has numerous shrines, with those of Kapaleeshwarar and Karpagambal being the most prominent. The temple complex houses many halls. The temple has six daily rituals at various times from 5:30 a.m. to 10 p.m., and four yearly festivals on its calendar. The Arubathimooval festival celebrated during Paṅkuni in the Tamil calendar is its most prominent festival.

st.thomas mount

St. Thomas Mount (known in Tamil as Parangimalai) is a small hillock located in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India, near the neighbourhood of Guindy and very close to Chennai International Airport.Ancient Syrian Christian community of India trace the origin of their Church to St. Thomas the Apostle, believed to have attained martyrdom in St.Thomas Mount. From the 17th century, this part of Chennai was populated predominantly by Anglo-Indians.

fort st.george

Fort St George (White Town) is the name of the first English fortress in India, founded in 1644[1] at the coastal city of Madras, the modern city of Chennai. The construction of the fort provided the impetus for further settlements and trading activity, in what was originally an uninhabited land.Thus, it is a feasible contention to say that the city evolved around the fortress.The fort currently houses the Tamil Nadu legislative assembly and other official buildings. The fort is one of the 163 notified areas (megalithic sites) in the state of Tamil Nadu.

Government Museum

Egmore Museum, established in 1851, is located in Egmore, Chennai. Known as the Madras Museum, the museum is the second oldest museum in India, the first being the Indian Museum at Kolkata, started in 1814. It is also one of the largest museums in South Asia. It is particularly rich in archaeological and numismatic collections. It has the largest collection of Roman antiquities outside Europe. Many of the buildings within the Museum campus are over 100 years old. Among them, the colossal Museum Theatre is one of the most impressive.The National Art Gallery is also present in the museum premises.

Parthasarathy Temple

The Parthasarathy Temple is an 8th-century Hindu Vaishnavite temple dedicated to the god Krishna, located at Triplicane, Chennai, India. The temple is glorified in the Divya Prabandha, the early medieval Tamil literature canon of the Alvar saints from the 6th–9th centuries CE and is classified as among the 108 Divya Desams dedicated to Vishnu.It was originally built by the Pallavas in the 8th century by king Narasimhavarman I. The temple has five of the incarnations or avatars of Vishnu: Narasimhar, Ramar, Varadaraja, Ranganathar and Krishna.

San Thome Basilica

San Thome Basilica is a Roman Catholic minor basilica in Santhome, in the city of Chennai, India. It was built in the 16th century by Portuguese explorers, over the supposed tomb of St Thomas, an apostle of Jesus. In 1893, it was rebuilt as a church with the status of a cathedral by the British. The British version still stands today. It was designed in Neo-Gothic style, favoured by British architects in the late 19th century.

Vivekanandar Illam

Vivekanandar Illam earlier known as Ice House or Castle Kernan at Chennai, India is an important place for the Ramakrishna Movement in South India. It is remembered as the place where Swami Vivekananda stayed for nine days when he visited Chennai in 1897. Vivekananda House now houses a Permanent Exhibition on Indian Culture and Swamiji’s Life, maintained by the Chennai branch of the Ramakrishna Math and is a source of inspiration to thousands of people who visit it every year.

Vadapalani Temple

This temple is dedicated to Lord Muruga, worshipped as Lord of Tamil, by the people of Tamil Nadu. Although Lord Muruga in this temple has become very popular among the devotees, this temple is a full-fledged Siva temple with "Sanctum Sanctorums" for Lord Shiva, Goddess Parvathi, Lord Ganesh, in addition to Lord Muruga. Another God who is more popular.Built about 125 years back, this much-hallowed and regularly frequented Lord Muruga sannidhi has emerged from a thatched shed, an unostentatious one enshrining a Murugan picture only.

Vandaloor Zoo

Zoo authorities said that the retaining wall behind the tiger enclosure caved in on Friday morning, leaving an open space. They immediately erected a chain link fence to cover it. While four tigers returned to their enclosure by evening, Vidya was missing.In order to confirm the animal’s presence within the enclosure, the authorities left beef pieces in the area on Friday evening. On Saturday morning, the authorities found that the pieces had been eaten by the tigress and also saw pug marks.As the enclosure is full of wild growth, sighting the animal had become a little difficult.
Efforts are on to clear the bushes and tranquilise Vidya.Normal activity at zoo K.S.S.V.P. Reddy, zoo director, said: “Since we put up the chain link fence within a couple of hours, it ensured that the animal did not stray into the open area of the zoo premises. There is no need for any panic and we also allowed the visitors into the zoo on Saturday.”Vidya is the offspring of a white tigress and a normal male tiger. Once she is back in the animal house, the work of re-building the retaining wall would be taken up, Mr. Reddy said. .


The best time to visit Vedanthangal is from November to February when the temperature varies between 16°C and 27°C. This is the nesting season, the ideal time to visit Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary. Vedanthangal experiences tropical climate, with level of mercury rising high during the summer season. The summer months are hot, whereas the winter months are pleasant and mild. During the summer season, from March to July, this place is extremely hot and temperature varies between a minimum of 29°C and a maximum of 40°C. The monsoon season arrives pretty late and stretches from August to October. During this season, Vedanthangal experiences heavy showers, so better avoid visiting this place during this season.

Guindy Park

One of the few national parks situated within city limits, Guindy National Park also holds the distinction of being the 8th smallest national park of India (yes, it does read smallest). Named after the original name of Raj Bhavan, Guindy Lodge, on whose extended grounds it is located, the park is home to Blackbucks, Spotted deer, Jackals, Snales, Tortoises and many other animals, birds and insects. Ironically the park used to be a game reserve back in the days of the British rule and covers a small portion of one of the last remnants of the tropical dry evergreen forest making the Coromandel coast. Unfortunately today Guindy National Park's floral biodiversity of dry evergreens and thorn forests is rare and as endangered as the resident Blackbucks and some of the other species the park is home to. Working on a range of conservation and ex-situ and in-situ measures, the park is taking definite strides towards the conservation of city's natural heritage. Sectioned into Snake Park where you can get intimidated by King Cobra and Python amongst other snakes, and Children's Park where a Tyrannosaurus greets you and a number of animals, crocodiles and other reptiles can be seen, Guindy National Park has a designated protected area entry within which is possible only in the company of a forest ranger.


Government Museum, Chennai is a multi-purpose State Government Museum located in EgmoreEgmore Museum...the most popular among Museums of Chennai is located at Egmore is the first Govt. sponsored and 2nd oldest Museum in the country..1851 and other being in Kolkata.The present Egmore Museum came into being in 1854 is on the Pantheon Road next to Institute for Child Health and Women Hospital.Museum has three Galleries and the entrance fee shall be obtained at the Main Entrance Gate of the Museum complex housing National art Gallery/Museum Theater/Connemara Library etc., Gallery I houses stone sculpres of Buddhist,Jain and Hindu mythological sculptures excavated from South India dating back to Iron age...19 th century.It houses all zoological specimens also.Gallery II houses the armoury used by various kingdoms of India particularly South Indian Kingdoms and their life style.

Cave Temple

The Cave Temples of Mahabalipuram are located on the hillock of Mahabalipuram town, overlooking the Coromandel Coast of the Bay of Bengal in Kancheepuram District in Tamil Nadu, India. Also called mandapas or rock-cut caves, they are sanctuaries or temples covered with bas-reliefs. The earliest period of use of these caves as sanctuaries is traced to the Buddhist and Jain periods. They were excavated on rock faces which were cut and then carved using chisel and iron mallet. Of the eleven mandapas or caves seen in Mahabalipuram, the most notable are the Varaha Cave Temple, Krishna Cave Temple, Panchapandava Cave Temple, and the Mahishasuramardini mandapa

Krishna Mandapam

This is the biggest among the Mandapams and is dedicated to Lord Krishna Lord Krishna is a famous legend who has been the figure of many mythological stories. The sculptures inside this Mandapam beautifully picturize the myth of Lord Krishna during his brave and energetic adulthood. He lifted the huge mount govardhara in elder to provide shelter to his people and their animals from the rain. Lord Indra, god of rain poured rain continuously due to his wrath.


Shore Temple

The Shore Temple is so named because it overlooks the shore of the Bay of Bengal. It is a structural temple, built with blocks of granite, dating from the 8th century AD. It was built on a promontory sticking out into the Bay of Bengal at Mahabalipuram, a village south of Chennai in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. At the time of its creation, the village was a busy port during the reign of Narasimhavarman II of the Pallava dynasty. As one of the Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram, it has been classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1984.It is one of the oldest structural (versus rock-cut) stone temples of South India.

Pancha Rathas

Pancha Rathas is a monument complex at Mahabalipuram, on the Coromandel Coast of the Bay of Bengal, in the Kancheepuram district of the state of Tamil Nadu, India. Pancha Rathas is an example of monolithic Indian rock-cut architecture. Dating from the late 7th century, it is attributed to the reign of King Mahendravarman I and his son Narasimhavarman Iof the Pallava Kingdom. An innovation of Narasimhavarman, the structures are without any precedent in Indian architecture. The complex is under the auspices of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) and is part of the UNESCO World Heritage site inscribed by UNESCO as Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram.

arjuna’s penance

This rock bas-relief was built by king Narasimha I. This rock is shaped like that of a huge wale. The sculpture is carved at the back portion of the whale shaped stone. It measures 27 meters in length and 9 meters in height with a crack in the middle of the rock. Arjuna is the great here of the great epic Mahabharata. On either sides of the rock one can fin d the God’s of the triple world, demi-gods, or gods of men, birds and beasts, the Nagas, the Nymphs all found mingling into the theme of Arjuna’s penance.


VaradharajaPerumal Temple

The 40 feet long idol of Lord Athi Varadaraja Perumal in reclining posture is made of Athi wood. This is brought out once in 40 years for the darshan of devotees. Chakkarathazwar shrine – the deity of the discus of Lord Perumal – with 16 hands holding conch and discus is on the eastern side of the temple tank. He is also praised as Sudharsana Azhwar. People pray to Perumal for achieving excellence in education and family welfare and prosperity. Lord Sudarshana Azhwar removes the obstacles in wedding proposals of the devotees. They also succeed in court cases and gain mental peace. Women facing health problems and seeking child boon pray to Mother Perundevi Thayar.Devotees also pray to the golden and silver lizards in the temple for relief from any untoward happening due to the fall of real lizards on their body. The prayer also brings them mental peace, safety and success in their endeavours.

Kanchi Kamakshi Temple

Kanchi Kamakshi temple is situated at about 5 acres of land and has four entrances. The main entrance of the temple has a Kalabhairavar deity on its left and the Mahishasura Mardini deity on the right. On the centre of the entrance you can see a huge Dwajasthampa. Moving further to the entrance of the Kamakshi deity you can see a Vinayaga deity. Moving on a straight line further, Goddess Kamakshi is visible. Goddess Kamakshi is surrounded by deities of Ayyapan, Saraswati, Annaporani and Adisankaracharya on its outer prakaram.

Kailashanatha Temple

The world famous Kailashnath temple is a marvellous example of Rashtrakuta architecture. The Kailashnath temple at Ellora, near Aurangabad in Maharashtra was built by Krishna I (757-783 A.D.) of the Rashtrakuta dynasty. It is a rock-cut temple and has four parts- the body of the temple, the entrance gate, the Nandi shrine and a group of five shrines surrounding the courtyard.The main body of the temple occupies a parallelogram, 45 metres by 33 metres, with sections of its sites projecting at intervals. It stands on a high plinth which is carved with sculptures of elephants and lions. The larger halls of the temples are decorated with images of Brahmanical Gods. The tower of the temple is in three diminishing tiers and is crowned by a cupola. The whole tower is 28.5 metres high.The gateway of the temple is double storeyed. On either side of the shrine of Nandi are two columns each having a Trishul, the ensigns of Shiva. Each of these columns is 15.6 metres high. Historians consider these temples as one of the architectural marvels of the world.

Ekambareshwara Temple

Ekambareswarar Temple is one of the famous Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Shiva, located in Kanchipuram in the state of Tamilnadu, India. It is one of the five major Shiva temples or Pancha Bootha Sthalams (each representing a natural element) representing the element - Earth. The other four temples in this category are Thiruvanaikaval Jambukeswara (water), Chidambaram Natarajar (ether), Thiruvannamalai Arunachaleswara (fire) and Kalahasti Nathar (wind).It is also one of the 108 Divya desam.Sri Ekambareswara is worshipped in the form of Prithvi linga (Earth). Hence Kanchipuram is considered as one of the Pancha Butha Sthalas. According to a legend, Parvati, once in Kailas, playfully closed the eyes of Lord Shiva, plunging the entire world in darkness. An angry Shiva cursed the Devi to turn dark like Kali. The Goddess descended on this place and did penance under a mango tree, making a Lingam out of earth. Hence, much significance is attached to this shrine and the mango tree, situated within the temple. Kanchipuram is situated 71 kms from Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Kanchipuram silk and cotton sarees for wedding

A Kanchipuram sari (also known as a Kanjivaram sari) is a type of sari traditionally made by weavers from Kanchipuram located in Tamil Nadu, India. These are woven naturally.Kanchipuram is administered by a Special grade municipality constituted in 1947. It is the headquarters of the Kanchi matha, a Hindu monastic institution believed to have been founded by the Hindu saint and commentator Adi Sankaracharya, and was the capital city of the Pallava Kingdom between the 4th and 9th centuries.

Sriperumbudur ( Rajiv Gandhi Memorial)

It’s been almost 5 years now I last visited Rajiv Gandhi Memorial in Sriperumbudur city in Kanchipuram district of Tamil Nadu.As I glance through the photographs, the memory of the visit refilled my senses and I decided to put all my memories here in my blog today.Sriperumbudur, an industrial city, 40 kms away from Chennai in kanchipuram district, got famous post Rajiv Gandhi assassination and now holds an eminent place on map thanks to Rajiv Gandhi Memorial, which has become an important tourist attraction point for visitors visiting the city.21st May 1991, the historic date, the day when Rajiv Gandhi was assassinated by a suicide bomber at this very place and government later converted this place into a memorial.

Thiruvanna Malai

Arulmigu Arunachaleswarar Temple

Shiva is known by devotees as Annamalayar or Arunachaleswarar. And this is believed to be the largest temple in the world dedicated to Shiva. The history of this Annamalayar temple dates back to thousand years. Mention has been made in the Thevaram and Thiruvasagam, both great works in Tamil. Thiruvannamalai Bramha took the form of a swan and flew to see the crown of Siva. Unable to see the crown, Bramha saw a thazhambu flower which had decked Siva's crown falling down. He asked the flower as to the distance of Siva's crown whereby the flower replied that he had been falling for forty thousand years. Bramha, realizing that he would not be able to reach the crown asked the flower to act as a false witness.


Earthlings enjoy every full moon night. On every full moon day, the temple wears a festive look and draws devotees from all parts of the land as the nectar of the floral disc attracts bees with an osmotic pull of an astounding force. The full moon not only swells oceans and seas but also the crowd of devotees who throng about the temple. The moon shows its whole disc illuminated and this illumination exerts an influence upon earnest adherents by imperceptible means. While the waning phases of moon bring in depression its waning phases waken up soul of men to winsome elation; and the lovely luminous (full) moon brings in the devotees a magical sense of spiritual awakening. A glow with aspirations the adherents find a promise of new life, new spring in the severe summer of the earthly life.

Seshadri Swamigal Ashram

Seshadri Swamigal was born in the year 1870 at Kancheepuram. It is believed that he went to Thriuvannamalai when he was in his teens. He was a ardent devotee of Goddess Shakthi. Unlike Ramana Maharishi who was a staunch follower of Lord Arunachaleswarar. They were good friends even though their way of life was totally different from one another. Seshadri Swamigal’s behavior was strange to the devotees. He would never sit or sleep in one particular place and never had any permanent home of his own. Most of his time was spent roaming the streets of Tiruvannamalai. He used to sleep whenever it was comfortable to sleep in a place. Never had any organized daily routine to follow. Always ate food from roadside shops without paying them any money. The shopkeepers thought it was a good omen if Swamiji visited their shop to eat. There would be heavy sales in that particular shop where Seshadri Swamigal ate that day.

Ramana Maharshi Ashram

Ramana Maharshi challenged death by a penetrating enquiry into the source of his being. Later hailed as Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi he revealed the direct path of Self-enquiry and awakened mankind to the immense spiritual power of the holy Arunachala Hill, the spiritual heart of the world. Study his teachings, discover his Ashram, listen to audio and view video recordings.The ashram strives hard to preserve the surroundings. Hundreds of visitors are given accommodations so that they may practice the teachings in the vicinity of the sacred shrine hallowed by His continued presence. Ashram provides vegetarian meals to several hundreds of visitors daily. The publication department releases books in many languages which contain the authentic teaching of the sage. This website offers resources that are helpful for those practicing his teaching. You will also find the contacts of fellow pilgrims in many cities of the world.

gingee fort

Gingee Fort or Senji Fort (also known as Chenji, Jinji or Senchi) in Tamil Nadu, India is one of the surviving forts in Tamil Nadu, India. It lies in Villupuram District, 160 kilometres from the state capital, Chennai, and is close to the Union Territory of Puducherry. The fort is so fortified, that Shivaji, the Maratha king, ranked it as the "most impregnable fortress in India" and it was called the "Troy of the East" by the British. The nearest town with a railway station is Tindivanam and the nearest airport is Chennai,located 150 kilometres away.

Yogi Ramsuratkumar Ashram

Bhagwan Sri Yogi Ramsuratkumar Ashram is at Agraharakollai in Chengam Road, Thiruvannamalai. It has a very spacious hall and can accommodate 4000 people at one time. Bhagwan’s Mahasamadhi is inside the hall and a temple has been constructed to house bhagwan in the form of the Siva Lingam. Annadhanam and Bhojan for Sadus are provided everyday. A Kindergarten School in the name of Bhagawan Yogi Ramsuratkumer is run by the Ashram.It runs on the foundation of our culture, dharma and tradition. A free medical camp is organised by the Ashram on every second sunday. Medicines are provided free of cost. To accommodate more devotees, a dormitory is under construction inside the Ashram. Devotees can send their contributions to the Ashram Address


Thillai Nataraja Temple

Chidambaram is one of the most ancient and most celebrated of shrines in India. It is of great religious as well as historic and cultural significance. Chidambaram is associated with Nataraja, or Shiva in his Ananda Tandava pose (the Cosmic Dance of bliss) in the cosmic golden hall and the hall of consciousness (Chit Sabha). Shiva is also worshipped in the "formless form" of the Chidambara Rahasyam, while the temple is known for its Akasa Lingam, an embodiment of Shiva as the formless Space. The word "Koyil" or temple in the Tamil Saivite tradition refers to none other than the Chidambaram Nataraja temple.Thillai Nataraja Temple

Thillai Kali Temple

Lord Shiva and Mother Kali entered into a dancing contest. Lord Shiva played His frurious Ugra Thandava and raised His legs upward at a stage and asked Kali if She could play this. Bound in feminine traits, Kali could not do this. Though defeated, She became furious. Lord Brahmma appeared there and praised Kali as Veda Nayaki and begged Her to calm down with four faces representing the four Vedas. Kali responded to Brahmma’s prayer and granted darshan to Him as Brahmma Chamundeeswari. An idol is made in this form separately and installed in the temple. Mother Thillai Kali graces the devotees with four faces from a separate shrine. Lord Dakshinamurthy is in a female form praised as Kadambavana Dakshina Rupini. Mother Maha Saraswathi blesses the devotees as Veena Vidyambica.


Nearly four hundred years ago Danish sailors arrived at the picturesque Tamil coastal village of Tarangambadi. Its strategic location instantly made it attractive to the Danes as a trading post. In 1620 they signed a treaty with the local ruler, Ragunath Nayak, on behalf of the Danish king Christian IV. The town was colonised and renamed Tranquebar. For details about great packages being offered by hotels all over India this summer check out Hotels. We update every day and provide you with details of the newest packages available. This windy beach town is the only pocket of Dane culture on the Indian sub-continent. Faded Danish landmarks give the place a strange but fascinating washed out charm. Along the grandly named King's Road is a memorial at the spot where the Danes landed. The massive Dansborg Fort is morereminiscent of Aalborg rather than a somnolent little town in Tamil Nadu. In the churchyard of the pretty, whitewashed New Jerusalem Church is buried Bartholomaus Zeigenbalg, a Danish missionary.


Pichavaram the second largest Mangrove forest in the world, near the temple town of Chidambaram, is one of the unique Eco-tourism spots in South India. The backwaters, inter connected by the Vellar and Coleroon river systems, offer abundant scope for water sports, rowing, Kayak and canoeing. The Pichavaram forest not only offers waterscape and back water cruises, but combines another very rare occurrence - the mangrove forest trees permanently rooted in a few feet of water. The Pichavaram mangroves are considered among the healthiest mangrove occurrence in the world. Pichavaram consists of a number of islands interspersing a vast expanse of water covered with green trees. The area is about 2800 acres and is separated from the sea by a sand bar which is a patch of extraordinary loveliness. The Pichavaram mangrove biotope, with its peculiar topography and environmental condition, supports the existence of many rare varieties of economically important shell and fin fishes.


The Township of Neyveli is one of the modern, well-planned townships in India, and can be compared to the likes of Chandigarh, New York. The township was in fact planned just like the city of Chandigarh, New York City with the township being sub-divided into 'blocks'. There are 32 blocks in total. Each block is 1000 m by 700 m in size. The main roads of Neyveli Township dividing each of the blocks by double-lane modern roads are constructed with rubberised top layer. The housing quarters are around 15,000 in number and vary between hostel-type buildings with 6 apartments to individual two-floor single cottage type quarters. The houses were originally constructed using concrete, while newer buildings are constructed using 'hollow blocks' cast from flyash which is a by-product of lignite. The technique is being used as an initiative to re-use the by-products of lignite effectively. Neyveli Township can be termed as one of the modern industrial townships of India, with round-the-clock, water and electricity facilities. It also uses well-maintained, underground sanitation system, unlike some of the other cities in Tamil Nadu. At the dawn of the new millennium, the overhead communication cables were replaced by the underground cable communication system, with state-of-the-art optical cables


Tharangambadi (formerly Tranquebar) is a panchayat town in Nagapattinam district in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu, 15 km north of Karaikal, near the mouth of a distributary of the Kaveri River. Tharangambadi is the headquarters of Tharangambadi taluk. Its name means "place of the singing waves". It was a Danish colony from 1620 to 1845, and in Danish it is still known as Trankebar.The place dates back to 14th century. Masilamani nathar (Shiva) temple was built in 1306, in a land given by Maravarman Kulasekara Pandyan I. As of now, this temple is the oldest monument. Until 1620, when Danish people came, the place was under Thanjavur Nayak kingdom. Danish admiral Ove Gjedde felt the place would be a potential trading centre, made a deal with Raghunatha Nayak and built a fort, which is known as Fort Dansborg. Nevertheless, a jesuit Catholic church was already in place before that, catering for the Indo-Portuguese community. The Catholic church was probably demolished to build the fort.[citation needed] This fort was the residence and headquarters of the governor and other officials for about 150 years. It is now a museum hosting a collection of artifacts from the colonial era.

Gangaikonda Cholapuram

Gangaikonda Cholapuram was erected as the capital of the Cholas by Rajendra Chola I, the son and successor of Rajaraja Chola, the great Chola who conquered a large area in South India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Sumatra, Kadaram , Cambodia and others at the beginning of the 11th century A.D.The great temple of Siva at this place is next only to the Brihadisvara temple at Thanjavur in its monumental nature and surpasses it in sculptural quality.The Gangaikondaan temple is an architectural and engineering marvel because the shadow of the main tower never falls on the ground throughout the year.

Kalvarayan Hills

The Kalvarayan hills which sprawls over an area of about 600 sq. kms is situated at an altitude from 315 mts. to 1190 mts.The Kalvarayan hills falls under the Kallakurichi Taluk and is situated 150 kms north west of Chidambaram.It is an ideal place to go on trekking. The other attraction here is the botanical garden with two other waterfalls. In the month of May there is a summer festival held here.


Adi Kumbeswara Temple

Adi Kumbeswarar Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva, located in the town of Kumbakonam in Tamil Nadu, India. Shiva is worshiped as Adi Kumbeswarar, and is represented by the lingam. His consort Parvati is depicted as Mangalambigai Amman. The presiding deity is revered in the 7th century Tamil Saiva canonical work, the Tevaram, written by Tamil saint poets known as the Nayanmars and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam.The present masonry structure was built during the Chola dynasty in the 9th century, while later expansions are attributed to Vijayanagar rulers of the Thanjavur Nayaks of the 16th century. The temple is maintained and administered by the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu.

Airavatesvara Temple

The temple at Darasuram, 4 km west of Kumbakonam is Airvatesvara (Airavat is the holy white elephant) Temple, constructed by Rajaraja Chola II (1146–63), is a superb example of 12th-century Chola architecture. Many statues were removed to the art gallery in the Thanjavur Palace, but have since been returned. The remarkable structures depict, among other things, Shiva as Kankala-murti - the mendicant. Stories from epics and Hindu mythology are depicted. Adjoining the Airavatesvara temple is the Deiva Nayaki Ambal temple.

Ramaswamy Temple

The Ramaswamy Temple which depicts the paintings of Ramayana is another important Vaishanavite temple in Kumbakonam. The greatness of Ramaswamy Temple is said to be the only temple where Lord Rama, Goddess Sita are in the same platform and Lord Hanuman is playing the veena instead of reading the Ramayana. The entire deity is said to be made from Saligrama monolith. The Temple is filled with intricate carvings in its pillars.

Kasi Viswanathar Temple

Kasi Viswanathar Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva located in Kumbakonam, Tamil Nadu, India.[1] The temple is incarnated by the hymns of Thevaram and is classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam.The temple is located near the banks of Mahamaham tank. This temple with 2 prakarams (outer courtyard) and a 72 ft high Rajagopuram. Images of the 9 river Goddesses are seen in this temple along with kshetra Mahalingam.

Mahalingeswaraswamy Temple

Mahalingeswaraswamy Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva, located in Tiruvidaimaruthur, a village in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. It is significant to the Hindu sect of Saivism as one of the seven major Shiva temples. Shiva is worshiped as Mahalingeswaraswamy, and is represented by the lingam, with his idol referred to as Jothimayalingam. His consort Parvati is depicted as Pirguchuntaragujambigai. The lingam of the temple is believed to be the focal point for the seven consorts of Shiva.

Patteeswaram Temple

Patteeswaram is a village, eight kilometres from Kumbakonam in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. The village was named after Patti (also called Nandini), the calf of Kamadhenu, the divine cow in Hindu mythology.Patteeswaram, near Kumbakonam is famous for its Durga temple. This temple is fairly big and well-maintained one. There are five majestic gopurams (towers). The temple seems to have been built and rebuilt several times with additions made to the original temple at various times. The evidence of this is in the temple’s architecture which has the styles of the Pallavas, Cholas and the Nayaks. The presiding deity at this temple is Dhenupureeswarar and his consort is Gyanambigai. Patteeswaram is one of the Parivara Sthalam. Mahalingaswamy at Thiruvidaimarudhur has the Parivara devatas in various temples flung as far away as Sirkali and Thiruvalanchuzhi.

Thenupuriswarar Temple

The presiding Deity at this temple is Thenupuriswarar and his consort is Gyaniambigai.The place derives its name Patteeswaram from the worship of a 'Patti Kandru' -cow calf that made a sand Shivalainga and worshipped here.Lord is Patteeswarar. Once, Thirugnaana Sambandar came walking down to Patteeswaram to have the dharshan of Lord Shiva. As it was hot summer, he was finding it difficult with scorching heat. Lord Shiva, realizing Sambandar’s pain, ordered his Bhoodha Ganas to hold a Muthu Pandhal (Umbrella woven with pearls) along the way to the temple, so that Sambandar can walk in the shadow. Lord asked Nandhi to move to enable Him to see Sambandar coming to the shrine with the Muthu Pandal.The temple is incarnated by the hymns of Tirugnana Sambandar and is classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam.


Brahadeeswara Temple

Thanjavur Brihadeeswara temple is one of the most ancient temple, situated in the city of Thanjavur in Tamil Nadu, India. Thanjavur named after the legendry asura "Tanjan", is one of the ancient temples in India. In ancient days, Thanjavur known as “The rice bowl of Tamil Nadu,” was an important city to the ancient Cholas. It was remade by the Cholas from a collection of villages into a major temple center 1000 years ago, with the construction of the Brihadisvara Temple in the center of the city, and the city then built up around it. Thanjavur had the distinction of being specifically constructed as a religious city with the temple centermost. This temple, the main attraction of Tanjore was built by Rajaraja Chola and reflects the contribution of the Cholas to the development of arts here. Listed as a World Heritage site, it is characterised by its unique structure. Unlike other South Indian temples, the Brihadeeswara temple has a towering vimana and a small gopuram. It was constructed out of a single piece of granite weighing around 80 tonnes. The statue of Nandi was weighs 25 tonnes and is one of the largest of Nandi bulls in India.

Saraswati Mahal Library

Built during 1700 AD and located by the art gallery, this library has a huge collection of 30,000 palm leaf and paper manuscripts written in Indian and European languages. It also has some Tamil treatises on medicine and commentaries from the Sangam period. The nearby museum houses some interesting exhibits like the Ramayana written on a palm leaf.The Saraswathi Mahal library started as a Royal Library for the private pleasure of the Nayak Kings of Thanjavur who ruled 1535 - 1675 AD. The Maratha rulers who captured Thanjavur in 1675 patronised local culture and further developed the Royal Palace Library until 1855. Most notable among the Maratha Kings was Serfoji II (1798–1832), who was an eminent scholar in many branches of learning and the arts.

Hall of Music

Places that had “bounteous rainfall, a wealth of agricultural produce and facilities for leading a comfortable and carefree life… became seats of music,” wrote Prof. P. Sambamurthy. It is easy to see why Thanjavur District, with lush fields and the Cauvery flowing through it, would have fit the bill. Thanjavur was also blessed in its rulers, under whom music and other arts flourished. Talking about the Tamil music tradition, Dr. Deivanayagam, Professor of Architecture, Tamil University, Thanjavur, says there were books on music even in the Sangam era, as for example ‘Isai Nunukkam', ‘Perumkurugu' and ‘Peru Naarai'. The Tholkappiyam explains how letters should be pronounced, and how words should be articulated while singing.

Schwartz Church

The 18th-century Christ Church or Schwartz Church a legacy of Tanjore colonial past, stands to the east of the Shivanganga Tank. This church was founded by the Danish missionary, Reverend Frederik Christian Schwartz, in 1779. When he died in 1798, the enlightened Maratha ruler, Serfoji II, donated a striking marble tablet, made by John Flaxman and this has been placed at the western end of the church. It depicts the dying missionary blessing his royal patron, surrounded by ministers and pupils from the school that he established.


Brahma Sira Kandeeswarar Temple in Thirukkandiyur or Tirukkandiyur, is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva located near Tiruvaiyaru, Tamil Nadu, India. The temple is incarnated by the hymns of Tirugnana Sambandar and is classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam. As per Hindu legend, Brahma, the Hindu god of creation and Shiva, the Hindu god of destruction, had originally five heads. Parvathi, the wife of Shiva once got confused and performed patha pooja (ablution of feet, considered an act of respect) to Brahma instead of Shiva. Shiva got enraged and cut off one of the heads of Brahma. The cut head got stuck in his hand of Shiva on account of a curse of Brahma. To get rid off the sin, Shiva worshipped Vishnu at Thirukarambanur as Bhikshadana, where a part of his sin was relieved. He got his curse fully relieved after visiting Vishnu at Thirukandiyur and taking a holy dip in the temple tank, Kamala Pushkarani. Since Vishnu relieved (vimochana) the sin (saabha) of Shiva (also called Hara), the temple is called Hara Saabha Vimochana Temple. After the incident, the tank came to be known as Kapala Theertham (kapala indicates skull). Shiva was pleased and he built the Hara Sabha Vimochana temple and also built a temple for himself near it.


Swamimalai is a sylvan village, situated about five kilometers west of Kumbakonam on the banks of a tributary of river Cauvery. The temple is situated very close to the bus stand and the railway station is about two kilometers away. It is well connected to and surrounded by important places like Kumbakonam, Tiruvidaimarutur, Mayiladuthurai, Papanasam, Tanjavur etc.Swamimalai is fourth among the six padai veedu or sacred shrines dedicated to Lord Muruga. The presiding deity here expounded the meaning of the Pranava mantra OM to his own Father Lord Siva Himself.Mythology says that saint Bhrugu before commencing an arduous tavam or penance, got the boon that anybody disturbing his mediation will forget all his knowledge. Such was the power of the penance that the sacred fire emanating from the head of the saint reached up to the heavens, and the frightened devas surrendered to Lord Siva praying for his grace.


Palaiyarai is ancient temple city and the Capital of the Cholas. King Raja Kambeera Mamannan, Raja Raja Chola II (1146 A.D. to 1172 A.D) changed his capital from Gangaikonda Cholapuram to Palaiyarai and renamed it as Raja Raja Puram (at present it is Darasuram). There were 1000 Thaligal (temples) in palaiyarai .There were 4 padai veedus (Military Camps) on al the four directions of the Capital. Thalicherippendirgal were appointed by the king to develop fine arts especially music and dance in the temple during festival occasions. King Raja Raja II constructed in his name a beautiful temple called Raja Rajechuram (at present Airavatheeswara) in1160 A.D. to 1162 A.D. This Raja Rajechuram (Raja Rajeschuram – Tharechuram – Darachuram -Darasurm) became Darasuram at present. It is a world heritage monument protected by UNESCO.


Thiruvaiyaru (also spelled as Tiruvaiyaru)is a panchayat town in Thanjavur District in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Thiruvaiyaru is situated on the banks of the river Kaveri, 13 km from Thanjavur. Thiruvaaiyaru has an old Siva temple dedicated to Panchanatheeswar. Though pilgrims flock to this temple throughout the year, Thiruvaiyaru is more renowned for its association with Saint Thyagaraja, who, along with Muthuswami Dikshitar and Shyama Sastri, comprised the Trinity of Carnatic music. Thiruvaiyaru means Five Rivers around the city. The Five Rivers are Arisilaaru, Vennaaru, Vettaaru, Kudamuruttiyaaru and Kaveriaaru. Thiruvaiyaru is the headquarters of the Thiruvaiyaru taluk. Thiruvaiyaru is a small, quiet town. However, its modesty belies its importance as a pilgrim centre. On the highway from Thanjavur, you pass five bridges ' over the Vadavar, Vettar, Vennar, Kudamurutti and Cauvery, the five rivers from which Thiruvaiyaru gets its name (thiru = sacred; ai = five; aaru = river). The presiding deity of the Siva temple here, Panchanatheesvarar (in Tamil, Ayyarappan ' both mean the same thing, `the Lord of the Five Rivers') also gets his name from them. Thiruvaiyaru is considered as holy as Varanasi and bathing in the Cauvery here is as guaranteed to rid devotees of sins as bathing in the Ganges.


Manora Fort is situated 65 km away from Thanjavur in Tamil Nadu. This majestic fort was built by the Maratha ruler, Serfoji II. Manora Fort is 8 storied hexagonal towers with 23 meters height overlooking the Bay of Bengal. The fort derives its name Manora from the word “minaret”. The legend says that Lankan traders used to come to Manora and traded goods with the Indian traders. It is also believed that there is a treasure hidden inside the secret maze of Manora by Serfoji. Visitors are allowed to go only till 2 storeys inside the fort, due to damage and fear of collapse of the tower. It is said that there is an underground passage in Manora that leads to the main temple of Thanjavur. Built in beautiful stone, Manora Fort is an ultimate ancient specimen that takes you back to the world of kings and their secret passages which weaves together our country’s great history.


Thyagaragar Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva, located in the town of Thiruvarur in Tamil Nadu, India. Shiva is worshiped as Moolanathar, and is represented by the lingam. Daily poojas are offered to his idol referred to as Maragatha lingam. His consort Parvati is depicted as Kamalambigai. The presiding deity is revered in the 7th century Tamil Saiva canonical work, the Tevaram, written by Tamil saint poets known as the nayanars and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam. The temple complex covers 30 acres, and is one of the largest in India. It houses four gateway towers known as gopurams. The tallest is the eastern tower, with four stories and a height of 30 metres (98 ft). The temple has numerous shrines, with those of Thyagaragar (Veethi Vidangar) and Neelothbalambal (Alliyankothai) being the most prominent.


Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple, Srirangam

Srirangam temple Sri Raganatha swami is blessing in three different islands of the holy river Cauvery. It flows from Karnataka to Tamilnadu. The first island is Sriranga Patinam and it is called Aathirnagam (Origin of Rangam), located in Mysore (125 km distance from Bangalore to Mysore route). The second island is Sivanasha Samuthiram and it is called Mathiyarnagam (Middle of Rangam), situated 70 km distance from Srirangapatinam. The third island is Thiru navalantheevu and it is called Srirangam and also called Antharngam (last part of Rangam - meaning of heaven) is situated in Tamilandu, Trichirappalli district, India. Sriranagm temple is 7 km away from the Trichirappalli Junction (in the south 321 km from Chennai and in the north east 200 km from Madurai approximately). Srirangam can be reached by bus and train (International airport is also available in Trichy). This prehistoric architectural temple welcomes all pilgrims and tourists with open arms

Jambukeswarar Temple, Thiruvanaikaval

Thiruvanaikaval (also Thiruvanaikal, Jambekeswaram) is a famous Shiva temple in Tiruchirapalli (Trichy), in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. The temple was built by Kocengannan (Kochenga Chola), one of the Early Cholas, around 1,800 years ago. It is located in the Srirangam island, which has the famous Ranganathaswamy temple. Thiruvanaikal is one of the five major Shiva Temples of Tamil Nadu (Panchabhoota Sthalams) representing the Mahābhūta or five great elements; this temple represents the element of water, or neer in Tamil.The sanctum of Jambukeswara has an underground water stream and in spite of pumping water out, it is always filled with water.

Samayapuram Amman Temple

Samayapuram Mariamman Temple is a Hindu temple in Samayapuram near Tiruchirappalli in Tamil Nadu, India. The main deity, Samayapurathal or Mariamman is made of sand and clay like many of the traditional Mariamman deities, and hence unlike many other Hindu deities there are no abhishekams (sacred washing) conducted to the main deity, but instead the "abishekam" is done to the small stone statue in front of it. It is believed by the devotees that the Goddess has enormous powers over curing illnessesand hence, it is a ritual to buy small metallic replicas, made with silver or steel, of various body parts that need to be cured, and these are deposited in the donation box.

Uttamar Temple

The place is known as Pichandarkovil as Lord Shiva was relieved of His doshas here. As Lord Vishnu stood here as Kadhamba tree, it is also known as Kadhambanur-Karambanur. Husband and wife should live in unity understanding each other, a life described Uthamba meaning best, hence, the place is also known as Uthamarkoil. As all the three Lords grace here with their respective consorts, Tirumangai Azhwar had praised this temple in His Mangalasasanam as Uthamar koil. It is believed that families will prosper with prayers in this temple.Lord Brahmma the Creator had the grievance that He did not have a temple for Himself though He too held a position as high as the three Lords. Lord Vishnu made Him born on Earth. He was worshipping Lord Vishnu. To test His Bhakti, Lord stood there as Kadhamba tree. Brahmma did not fail to recognize Vishnu in tree form and began to perform pujas to the tree.

Tayumannavar (Siva) Temple

The region was ruled by a Chola king having Worayur as his capital. During this time, Sarama Munivar created a flower garden here and was worshipping Lord with Sevvandhi flowers. A trader stole the flowers from this garden and gave them to the king. As the king became very fond of these flowers, he asked the trader to supply them to him daily. The trader continued his theft business. This caused disturbance to the Shiva Puja of Sarama Munivar. His appeal to the king was in vain. Munivar appealed to Lord Shiva who looked at the direction of the court of the king and caused sand rain in the place. The king realized his wrong doing, prayed to Lord Shiva and was pardoned. Wife of Dana Guptan was pregnant and she asked her mother to come to help her. The mother could not reach daughter Rathnavathi due to heavy floods in Cauvery. Meantime, Ratnavathi developed labour pain. She prayed to Lord Shiva for help. Shiva appeared there as her own mother, attended on her for a week till the floods receded.

RockFort Uchi Pillaiyar Temple

Uchi Pillaiyar Temple is located on the peak of the Rock Fort hill. The shrine is at a height of 273 ft and you have to climb over 400 steps to reach the pinnacle. One has to cross Sri Thayumanavar temple, which is located half way to the peak. Though the climb is a bit difficult, the soothing cool breeze gears up our energy to climb without much strain. A panoramic view of the entire Thiruchi and Srirangam Temple from the Uchi Vinayakar temple is just amazing. The Rock Fort temple complex in Tiruchirappalli is a collection of three temples – the Manikka Vinayaka temple at the foot of the hill, the Uchhi Pillayar Koyil at the top of the hill and the Taayumaanava Koyil (Shivastalam) on the hill. This Shivastalam is a rock cut temple on a hill in the most prominent landmark in Tiruchirappalli (Trichy); reached by a flight of steps on the way to the famous Ucchi Pillaya temple.

Tiruvanaikaval SriAkilandeswari & Lord Siva Temple

Thiruvanaikoil is a beautiful small urban village at Tiruchirappalli district ('Trichy', 'Thiruchirapalli', 'Tiruchinopoly', 'Tiruchi') in Tamil Nadu of Southern India. Thiruvanaikoil is also familiarly known as Tiruvanaikoil, Tiruvanaikaval, Thiruvanaikaval, Thiruvanaika, Thiruanaikaa.. Thiruvanaikoil is around 3 Kms away from the heart of Trichy city and adjacent to Srirangam another small historic town and one of the holy places in India. Thiruvanaikoil and Srirangam are in the banks of river Cauvery. Literally these two places form an island, surrounded by river Cauvery and river Coleroon.Thiruvanaikoil temple is one of the Panchabhoota Stalams (signifying the 5 natural elements) and represents water ('Neer'). The other four temples are Kalahasti for wind ('Kaatru'), Tiruvannamalai for fire ('Neruppu'), Kanchipuram for earth ('Mann', 'Bhoomi') and Chidambaram for space (“Aagayam”). As this temple represents water this is also called as 'Appu sthalam' and the Shivalinga ('Swami') here is called as 'Appu Linga'.

Vayalur Lord Murugan Temple

Lord Muruga appears here to teach the great lesson that one should know that the first Gods are the Mother and Father. He is seen praying to Lord Shiva and Mother Parvathi to illustrate this great lesson. Vayalur is the holy place where Lord Muruga blessed sage Arunagiri with the gift of pouring countless hymns in praise of Him, Tirupugazh, Kandar Anubhuthi, Kandar Alangaram etc. in chaste Tamil of highest poetic and spiritual standards. Every word in the hymns of Arunagiri is an outpouring of his God Realization experience which cannot be thought of or attempted even by the best poet lauerate of the language. They are spontaneous in nature. Sri Kripananda Variar: The great scholar and devotee of Lord Muruga, Sri Kripananda variar deserves to be regarded as the Arunagiriar of the 20th Century. He brought Vayalur great fame through his speeches and writings on Thirupugazh, Skanda Mahapuranam etc. He would begin his lectures only after offering his prayers to Lord Muruga of Vayalur. The two Vs Sri Variar and Vayalur are inseparable.

Mukambu Dam

Water gushing through the dam, cool breeze make it an ideal getaway Water gushing through the Mukkombu dam at Cauvery and Kollidam came as a welcome sight for tourists and residents of the city and surrounding villages.With Mettur reservoir clocking an inflow of 1.22 lakh cusecs, about 20,000 cusecs of water from the Cauvery was being diverted into the Coleroon. The Coleroon drains into the sea in an area between Nagapattinam and Cuddalore.The police personnel have been stationed at several areas around the bank to prevent the public from taking a dip in the water because of the strong current and heavy flow of water that could prove to be fatal.A pleasant breeze and the sight of gushing waters makes the Mukkombu dam an ideal getaway.Residents of Tiruchi and surrounding villages along the banks of the Cauvery rejoiced as they watched the water flow past.

Kallanai Dam

Kallanai Dam is one of the oldest irrigation dams in the world built around 2000 years ago. It was built across the river Cauvery by the Chola King, Karikal Valavan. The main purpose of building Kallanai was to divert the Cauvery water for irrigation in the Tanjavur delta. Kallanai has a strong foundation and solid structure. Due to its stubbornness it is still in excellent condition and is used as a major irrigation dam in Tamilnadu. About 15,000 Singala speaking slaves cum war prison-ires picked and mobilized from Srilanka During construction by Tamil Chola rulers for to meet construction labour force.

Narthamallai Amman Temple

The hill was earlier known as Naradar Malai as Sage Narada performed penance here which later changed as Narthamalai. This is a famous shrine for those seeking child boon and a total cure from the attack of small pox. These two features draw huge number of devotees to the temple.The Amman idol in the temple is believed to have been found at a place named Keelkurichi 4 miles far from Narthamalai in a field and brought here by a priest in the place. A small temple was built then. Later, one Malayammal from the Tiruvannamalai Zameen extended this temple with her own funds and celebrated festivals which are continued now.

Le College Saint Joseph

True to its noble ideal, Pro Bono Et Vero (for the Good and the True),the Sesquicentenarian St Joseph's College has always upheld and radiated Goodness and Truth in its endeavour to impart qualitative higher education. This educational establishment has been instrumetal in churning out thousands of truly educated men; not only physically fit, but intellectually well equipped; nor merely cultured and refined but thorougly schooled and disciplined. Thus this College stands for what is best in education, Crystallized in its glorious motto ' Pro Bono Et Vero ' - truly upholding the glory and honour it richly deserves, testified by time and history.


Aayiram jannal veedu

Aayiram Jannal Veedu is a famous landmark in the town of Karaikudi. The literal translation of the name of the place means ‘The House with a Thousand Windows’; a very apt name for a house that has thousand windows!The House is very famous among the tourists who make it a point to visit the place when in Karaikudi. In fact, once in the town simply ask anyone for directions to the House. The House is built on 20,000 square feet of area and is very spacious. The House was built in 1941 and costed 1 lac 25 thousand at the time; a meager sum of money now. The House has 25 huge rooms and five very large halls. There are some 20 doors in the House along with 100 windows. The first thing that strikes when one enters the House is that although it is in shambles and poorly maintained, the original style of architecture and grandeur still remains intact.

Chettinad Palace

Chettinad Palace is considered as one of the seven wonders in India. It is an amazing amalgamation of art, architecture and tradition. It was Dr. Annamali Chettiar who designed the palace and got it built in 1912. The palace is an important structure in the history of India because it provides us so much information on the technology that was available during the period. The Chettinad Palace is an outstanding example of the rich cultural heritage of the people of Chettinad.Located in Kanadukathan village, outside Karaikudi city, it is a classic example of the traditional Chettinad architecture. At the entrance is a pillared veranda or thinnai, meant for receiving visitors. Heavy ornate wooden doors lead to the main hall, decorated with elephant tusks, antique furniture and portraits of family members. Typically, the Palace extends further in a series of three courtyards, with the doors aligned in such a way that, from the entrance, you can see straight through to the end of the house. Italian marble, Burma teak, stained glass and a fusion of colour and ornate wrought iron, handmade tiles and woodwork, light up this home. Also visit the equally large but, unfortunately, poorly preserved Athangudi Palace.

Karpaga Vinayagar

This is an ancient rock cut temple. Scholars says that Lord Vinayaga is the Lord of wisdom, As Vinayagar satisfies the wishes of his devotees like Karpagam tree, he is also known "Karpaga Vinayagar". Here Lord Vinayaga appears with 2 hands unlike in other places where he is seen with 4 hands. Also he is seen seated without Angusapasam, with his legs folded and stomach not touching the Asanam in the form of "Artha Padma" Asanam. The word Vinayaga means "Incomparable Leader" Devotees worshipping Valamburi Vinayagar seated facing towards north, will be blessed with all wealth.Also adding to the sprituality Goddess Laxmi, Saraswathi and Durgai are found together at the same sport.


Athangudi is a village situated in Chettinad, which is popular for handmade terracotta tiles. These tiles are sun-dried and patterned beautifully for giving the desired texture. The colourful tiles here are mainly designed using sand, cement, belly jelly and synthetic oxides. These tiles are generally available in flora and fauna designs and are famous for their dark, white and earthy hues. All these tiles are designed in the Athangudi tile factory and are used mainly in the Chettiars ancestral houses. Athangudi village is located in the Kallal Taluk in the Sivaganga District and is just 24.8 km from this main district. Further, this village is 383 km from the state capital; Chennai.


Meenakshi Amman Temple

Meenakshi Amman Temple is a historic Hindu temple located on the southern bank of the Vaigai River in the temple city of Madurai, Tamil Nadu, India. It is dedicated to Parvati, known as Meenakshi, and her consort, Shiva, here named Sundareswarar.The Pandiyan monarch, Kulasekara, built a Shiva temple and the streets radiated out from the temple like lotus petals. The city was henceforth known as 'Madhurapuri'. Madhurapuri grew and prospered to become the capital of the Pandiyan Kingdom. It is referred to in the Ramayana and in Kautilya's Arthasashtra. The saint-poet Thirugnanasambandar has mentioned the temple in his songs which go back to early 7th century. The Lord has been described as Aalavaai Iraivan in his songs.

Thirumalai nayak mahal

Thirumalai Nayakruled Madurai between A.D 1623 and 1659.He attained throne with the name of Raja Raja Thirumalai sowri. He was the most notable of the thirteen Madurai Nayak rulers in the 17th century. His contributions are found in the many splendid buildings and temples of Madurai. His kingdom was under constant threat from the armies of Bijapur Sultanate and the other neighbouring Muslim kingdoms, which he managed to repulse successfully. His territories comprised much of the old Pandya territories which included Coimbatore, Tirunelveli, Madurai districts, Aragalur in southern Tamil Nadu and some territories of the Travancore kingdom.

Koodal Alagar Temple

This sthalam is situated in Madurai, which is famous for all the temples found here. And, Madurai is famous for the Meenakshi Amman temple. All the Devas of the Lokam and Munivar came all together for the Meenakshi Amman to Sivaperumaan in this sthalam and because of this, the sthalam is called as “Koodal”. Koodal means all of the persons (or) group of people coming (or) joining together. Sivaperumaanwho is the entire structure of Gnanam, and Sakthi are married to each other, and the Paramathma, Sri Emperumaan is assisting and helped them in getting married. Gnanam, sakthi, Beauty, Bhakti and wealth are joined together on the same place and they give their Kalyana seva to the entire world. When Konedu Maaran Sri Vallabha devan was ruling the city, Periyalwar on seeing the beauty of Azhagar, he sang the great, “Thiruppallanndu” in praise of Azhagar.

Vandiyur Kanmoy Tourist Comlex

About Vandiyur Kanmoy Tourist Complex: Vandiyur Kanmoy is a tank situated at a distance of 6 km from the Periyar bus stand. The complex has boating facilities, a restaurant and a children train, maintained by TTDC. It also provides houseboats to the tourists, making it a perfect picnic spot in the city.Apart from its Majestic Temples and religious places, the city of temples offers a host of other places of interest. A sightseeing tour of Madurai is the best option to relax and enjoy. After diving into the ocean of divinity, these tourist attractions help you to lighten your mood. So, what are you waiting for? Just grab your bags and get ready to go on whirlwind tours of the Madurai city of Tamil Nadu.

Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam

Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam is situated at a distance of about 5 km from the Meenakshi Amman Temple. The area of the tank, and the island pavilion with a garden in the center, is approximately equal to the area of Meenakshi Temple. It is one of the largest temple tanks in South India and gets water supply from the Vaigai River. There is a Vinayakar temple situated right in the middle of the tank, which is dedicated to Lord Vigneshwara, the Elephant-faced God. According to mythology, earth was dug out from the tank to build the Tirumalai Nayakkar Mahal. The place was supposed to be blessed and was later converted into a Teppakulam (tank). The tank is connected to Vaigai River via underground channels. It has total of 12 long stairs (steps) made of granite on all four sides. The temple as well as the stairs was built by the King Thirumalai Nayak.

Gandhi Museum

The building that houses the Gandhi Memorial Museum, Madurai is the historic Tamukkam Palace belonging to Rani Mangammal of Nayak Dynasty built about 1670 A.D. Later, This was under the occupation of the Nawab of Carnatic, the East India Company and a few others. Finally the Palace had remained for many years as the official residence of the British District Collector of Madurai, It was in 1955 the palace with about 13 acres of land was gifted by the Tamil Nadu State Government to the All India Gandhi Smarak Nidhi for the purpose of housing Gandhi Memorial Museum.


Tirupparankundram, a hill five miles southwest of Madurai, is the fourth pilgrimage site of Muruga. A cave temple dedicated to the element of earth and mentioned in various classical Tamil texts as the 'Southern Himalaya' where the gods assemble, Tirupparankunram is also mentioned in legend as 'the place where the sun and moon abide'. Murugan was married to Devasena upon the hill and for many centuries the Tamil people have considered it the most auspicious place for their own marriages, especially during the time of the Pankuni Uttiram, the festival of marriage held in late March.Besides the fantastic temple to Murugan on the hill, there is also a Muslim shrine dedicated to 'Sekunder' (al-Sikandar or Alexander the Great) who is associated with Murukan by the Muslim pilgrims. "Sikandar was a friend of Murugan at the time when Murugan was King here," they say.

Alagar Koil

In Alagar hills lord 'Thirumal' is located in the name of 'Alagar' and so it is called Alagar hills. This Vaishnavite temple has the unique reputation of the lord’s revelation to the Pandya king Malayathuaja Pandian and Dharma Devashai. The episodes of Alvars have added to the honour of the temple. One hundred and twenty three vaisnavite hymns describe the glory of the temple. Even in the epic Silappathikaram of the classical epic age, the greatness of the temple is beautifully described. No less than Six Alvars, namely, Perialvar, Thirumangaiyalvar, Boothathalvar, Andal, Peyalvar, Nammalvar, have Sung the glory of the shrine. The golden canopy to the dome of temple was done in the 13th Century A.D. by the devoted king Sundara Pandian. Many such sacred dedicatory pieces of artistic additions were added by the king Thirumalai Naickar. A holy spring known as Noopurangangai is perennially sprouting up at the top of the hillock.

Vaigai Dam

Water level was rising steadily in Vaigai dam here on Tuesday bringing cheers to farmers in southern districts and relief to officials in Madurai and nearby areas, thanks to the heavy discharge from Periyar dam and moderate showers in Vaigai dam catchments. However, the storage level slumped to 124.2 feet from 124.3 feet in Periyar dam as the quantum of discharge was more than the inflow in the morning. Even as the inflow into Periyar dam scaled down to 1,101 cusecs from 1,511 cusecs (on Monday), the Public Works Department engineers have been maintaining the discharge at 1,311 cusecs with the sole aim of improving storage in Vaigai dam to meet irrigation needs of farmers under its authorised ayacut and the drinking water needs of Madurai city, and Dindigul and Theni districts till next summer.


Ramanatha Swami Temple

The temple and the island of Rameswaram have acquired this name because, Lord Rama worshipped Lord Shiva, the God of Gods here on return from Sri Lanka. According to legend, after killing Ravana Lord Rama returned with his consort Goddess Seetha to India first stepping on the shores of Rameswaram. To expiate the "dosha" of killing a brahmin, Lord Rama wanted to offer worship to Lord Shiva. Since there was no shrine in the island had despatched Sri Hauman to Kailash to bring an idol of Lord Shiva.Between 1897 and 1904, the ALAR family of Devakottai completed the imposing eastern tower of nine tiers 126 feet in height from Thiruppani funds. Between 1907 and 1925 they renovated the Sanctum Sanctorum and the prakaram(inner most corridor) by replacing the lime stones by black granite with adequate provision for light and ventilation and also arranged for the performance of Ashtabandana Kumbabishekam in 1925; then on 22-2-1947 and the third Ashtabandana Maha Kumbabishegam was performed on 5-2-1975.

Pamban Bridge

The railway bridge is 6,776 ft (2,065 m) long and was opened for traffic in 1914. The bridge has a still-functioning double-leaf bascule section that can be raised to let ships pass.The railway bridge historically carried metre-gauge trains, but Indian Railways upgraded the bridge to carry broad-gauge trains in a project that finished Aug. 12, 2007. Until recently, the two leaves of the bridge were opened manually using levers by workers.About 10 ships — cargo carriers, coast guard ships, fishing vessels and oil tankers — pass through the bridge every month. From the elevated two-lane road bridge, adjoining islands and the parallel rail bridge below can be viewed.


Kumari Amman (Kanyakumari) Temple

Kanya Devi The 3000 year old Kumari Amman temple at this place is dedicated to Virgin Goddess Kanyakumari, who stands in eternal vigil protecting the country, is surrounded by a stone wall and stands on the edge of the ocean. The entrance to the temple is through the northern gate, while the eastern gate always remains closed except on some festival days, when deity is taken out for the ceremonial bath. The deity is facing the east.Goddess Kanyakumari has the legendary account that once Banusura, the demon king got supremacy over Devas and meted out cruel punishment to them. The Devas performed a Yagna pleading to annihilate the evils. Goddess Parasakthi came to Kumari in the form of a virgin girl and began her penance. Meanwhile Lord Shiva fell in love with her and arrangements for the marriage were made in the midnight a particular day.

Swami Vivekananda

SWAMI VIVEKANANDA'S inspiring personality was well known both in India and in America during the last decade of the nineteenth century and the first decade of the twentieth. The unknown monk of India suddenly leapt into fame at the Parliament of Religions held in Chicago in 1893, at which he represented Hinduism. His vast knowledge of Eastern and Western culture as well as his deep spiritual insight, fervid eloquence, brilliant conversation, broad human sympathy, colourful personality, and handsome figure made an irresistible appeal to the many types of Americans who came in contact with him. People who saw or heard Vivekananda even once still cherish his memory after a lapse of more than half a century.



Doddabetta Peak is the highest vantage point in Ooty, located at around 2,623 m. This peak is regarded as one of the highest peaks in South India, which lies at the junction of the Eastern and Western Ghats. The beautiful valley, plains of Coimbatore and the flat highlands of Mysore are visible from this point. The Tamil Nadu Tourism Development Corporation manages a Telescope House in the Doddabetta Peak which enables the visitors to get a better view. This TTDC Telescope House gives a complete view of the surrounding landscape. There is also a TTDC restaurant, which caters to the taste of the visitors. Tourists can also indulge in trekking at the Doddabetta Peak, which is also the highest peak of the Nilgiri.

Avalanche Lake

Avalanche Lake is an important tourism destination in the Nilgiris district. The lake is surrounded by a rolling landscape with blooming flowers like magnolias, orchids and rhododendrons. Tourists can traverse beside the lake through winding paths around the lake. Tourists visiting the lake can also engage themselves in Trout fishing. A trout hatchery is established near the lake, from where visitoras can get fishing rods and other fishing accessories required for trout fishing. The lake is also used by tourists as a camp site wherein they pitch tents near the lake. Other tourist activities in the area include rafting across the lake and trekking the nearby hilly regions like Upper Bhavani where there are thick forests and untouched wild habitats.

Mukurthi National Park

The Mukurthi National Park is located in the Nilgiris District of Tamil Nadu, the south eastern corner of the Nilgiris Plateau. Spread over 78.46 km, this represents one of the very few areas which support a viable population of the Nilgiri Tahr. A fascinating feature of the Mukkurthi National Park is its endemism and relationship with the Himalayan flora and fauna. The entire tract included in the National Park bears natural vegetation typical of higher altitudes of South India, comprising of rolling grassy downs, interspersed with temperate shoals occupying depressions and valleys. The landscape is extremely picturesque and should be zealously protected and preserved to maintain the primeval beauty and grandeur of the tract.

Ooty Golf Course

As the air is thinner in Ooty due to the high altitude, the balls travel comparatively farther. The course is surrounded by thick forests. The golf course contains many varieties of trees like rhododendron, oak, aromatic eucalyptus, and fir which add to the scenic atmosphere. Nine holes out of the eighteen holes are shot blind as the course has a rolling landscape. This is also the reason for the green being not visible from the tee-off area, though there are guide posts which help the players to the right direction. The fifth hole rises about 200 feet above the fourth hole and hence is considered the toughest hole of the course. The Ooty Golf Club offers fairways that are lush but also tight. The greens are well manicured and large. A golfer at the course also has the possibility of running into an ongoing fox hunt at the 13th hole. Beagles and Foxhounds are still trained today to take part in the hunt. The fox hunt in the area dates back to 1847 and can be witnessed in the course even today. The greens are fenced in order to prevent other wild animals from straying onto the course.


Berijam Lake

Berijam Lake, located at a distance of 21 Kilometres from the heart of the city, the lake is one of the most popular attractions of Kodaikanal. This lake was introduced to the public by European settlers. Known for its serene beauty, the area on which the lake is present was originally a swamp, which was cleared so as to discover the lake. Surrounded by green pine population, this lake is the main source for Periyakulam Town, which is located in proximity to Kodaikanal. Tourists visiting the lake can spot bison and leopard along with chirping birds. This lake can only be visited after obtaining the permission from the District Forest Officer, as it is not open to general public. Berijam Lake is a place where tourists can enjoy plethora of activities such as boating, walking and trekking. Boating is one of the most popular activities that tourists can enjoy at this lake. Water of this lake is abode to several known and unknown species of fish, which makes it angler's heaven.

Bear Shola Falls

A visit to Bear Shola Falls can also be combined with other tourist attractions across the city. With its delectable cuisines, and opportunities to explore the surrounding areas, Kodaikanal is perfectly poised to offer an experience that is both, authentic as well as unique! There are many ideal locations to visit in and around this wonderful city, with prominent local landmarks and favourable restaurants being just a few examples. Make a trip to Kodaikanal and its exciting places of interest to enjoy a memorable vacation. A visit to Bear Shola Falls will give you a greater insight into the various cultures and traditions of Kodaikanal .Bear Shola Falls Kodaikanal is on the bear shola road, 1.6 km far from The Carlton 5 star resort in kodaikanal. Located at a walking distance from the popular Kodaikanal Lake, the place was a watering hole earlier for the bears, now it is a very popular picnic spot in kodaikanal among the tourist. Bear Shola Waterfall is a small cascade surrounded by the greenery.

Kodaikanal Solar Observatory

It has been about 115 years since the establishment of Kodaikanal Observatory as an extension of the original Madras Observatory,which has evolved into the present Indian Institute of Astrophysics at Bangalore . It is also the first mountain observatory in India. Charles Michie Smith was the man who selected the site,established the observatory and directed it for the first 12 years. He was also the man who recruited John Evershed, discoverer of the famous Evershed effect and established Kodaikanal Observatory as a major centre for solar physics. Michie Smith,the person and the establishment of Kodaikanal Observatory are discussed here in the context of the early studies in physical astronomy (observational astrophysics)in India